Scorpion Child In A Spin


Time to get high…..

Texan classic rockers SCORPION CHILD will release their second album, ‘Acid Roulette’ on June 10, 2016 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment.

“’Acid Roulette’ chronicles the life trials of a traveling man who was imprisoned for a murderous crime,” comments vocalist Aryn Jonathan Black.
“He was forced into confessing by his wife and her wealthy lover so that they could live out their romance without him in the picture. Once sentenced to a life’s term, he goes through extreme emotions dealing with the only woman he’d ever loved taking everything he’d known as ‘real’ away from him. He has to create and redefine his own reality accompanied by its roller coaster of emotional reflection. He experiences many different psychological changes throughout the years and escapes by means of drugs and his writings. These songs become his diary of a madman. The focus is mainly on the seasons in a year, for each song represents a month. The songs exist to drive home the full power of human emotion as many albums do, however, ‘Acid Roulette’ wires us into those extremes.”

The band recorded at The Bubble in Austin, TX with Chris ‘Frenchie’ Smith (The Answer, And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead…) who produced and arranged the band’s self-titled, first full-length. ‘Acid Roulette’  was mixed by Dave Schiffman (The Mars Volta, Dead Meadow, Jane’s Addiction, Rage Against The Machine). The album’s artwork, pictured above, was a collaboration by Aryn Jonathan Black, photographer Max Taylor and graphic designer Rob Kimura.

You can Pre-Order ‘Acid Roulette’ on Limited Edition Light Blue Vinyl here.


Track list and formats read as follows:
1. She Sings, I Kill
2. Reaper’s Danse
3. My Woman In Black
4. Acid Roulette
5. Winter Side Of Deranged
6. Séance
7. Twilight Coven
8. Survives
9. Blind Man’s Shine
10. Moon Tension
11. Tower Grove
12. I Might Be Your Man
13. Addictions

Side One (Autumn):
1. She Sings, I Kill
2. Reaper’s Danse
3. My Woman In Black

Side Two (Winter):
1. Acid Roulette
2. Winter Side Of Deranged
3. Séance
4. Twilight Coven

Side Three (Spring):
1. Survives
2. Blind Man’s Shine
3. Moon Tension

Side Four (Summer):
1. Tower Grove
2. I Might Be Your Man
3. Addictions

Today, SCORPION CHILD are kicking off a European tour supporting legendary space rock icons Monster Magnet which will visit The Forum, London next week. This is an exclusive UK show for Monster Magnet which also includes heavy groove rockers Orange Goblin.

Commented Aryn Jonathan Black:
Monster Magnet are an amazing band! We can’t wait to share the stage with them. We will be performing a great deal of new material that will be featured on the new album that’s due out this summer! Can this tour hurry up and begin already??”

You can purchase tickets here:
19th March 2016 – The Forum, London

Scorpion Child will also be playing legendary UK festival, Download Festival on June 11th.
Tickets here.

The band had recently released a sneak-peak into their new album with a lyric video for the track, ‘She Sings, I Kill’.

This new track gives us a furtive glimpse into the Texans highly anticipated upcoming sophomore album. Aryn Jonathan Black returns with his rich, electrifying vocals interweaved with the groove laden riffs of guitarist Christopher Jay Cowart and the sauntering bass work of Alec Caballero PadronScorpion Child are completed by Jon ‘Charn’ Rice (drums) and AJ Vincent (keyboards). More impassioned than ever, Scorpion Child have something to prove.

Watch the videos for ‘Kings Highway’, ‘Polygon Of Eyes’, and ‘Liquor’ on the Nuclear Blast Youtube Channel.

Scorpion Child is:
Aryn Jonathan Black – Vocals
Christopher Jay Cowart – Lead Guitar
Jon “Charn” Rice – Drums
Alec Caballero Padron – Bass
AJ Vincent – Keyboards

Visit SCORPION CHILD online at
Like –
Follow –
Watch –


More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day