Are They Evil….?


Death Angel are back, here’s a taster

San Francisco Bay Area thrash legends Death Angel have recently announced their brand new album ‘The Evil Divide’ – which is due for release on 27th May via Nuclear Blast. The band have recently released a trailer previewing some new music and the album cover artwork of their upcoming release.

You can pre-order ‘The Evil Divide’ here:

Limited Edition CD/DVD Digipack, CD & Limited Etched Vinyl (inc free A1 poster) at Recordstore
Limited Edition Etched White Vinyl at the NB UK Store
Digital Album at iTunes

Artwork for the album was created by renowned tattoo artist Bob Tyrrell.

‘Both Mark and I had been tattooed by Bob, and when the subject of album artwork came up,” commented guitarist Rob Cavestaney. “We approached him to create the design. We wanted an image that would represent the idea of ‘The Evil Divide’; something beautiful, yet simultaneously wicked, hence the death moth. Bob realised our vision with mere pencil and paper, and now we proudly present to you the cover artwork for our 8th studio album, ‘The Evil Divide’.”

‘The Evil Divide’ was recorded at AudioHammer studios in Sanford, Florida with producer Jason Suecof (Trivium, Deicide), who previously worked on 2010’s ‘Relentless Retribution’ and 2013’s ‘The Dream Calls For Blood’. Mastering duties were handled by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York City.

Three decades into their celebrated career, Death Angel remain as hungry as ever.

As a result, uncompromising urgency and unpredictability define the Bay Area thrash quintet’s eighth full-length album, ‘The Evil Divide’. The group – Mark Osegueda (vocals), Rob Cavestany(lead guitar), Ted Aguilar (guitar), Will Carroll (drums), and Damien Sisson (bass) – satiate the appetite for buzzsaw speed riffs, double bass mayhem, and scorching vocals over the course of ten new anthems.

‘The Evil Divide’ stands out as the culmination of thirty-plus years of music for Death Angel. Their career kicked off with legendary debut, ‘The Ultra-Violence’, in 1987. The classic ‘Frolic Through The Park’ began to cement their legacy and even earned the distinction of landing on Loudwire’s list of the “Top Ten Thrash Albums NOT Released by The Big 4.” The group broke up following 1990’s ‘Act III’ only to reunite in 2004 on ‘The Art of Dying’ for the next generation.

In 2008, Death Angel teamed with producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Alice In Chains,Rush, Mastodon) for ‘Killing Season’ recorded at Dave Grohl’s Studio 606. In 2010, ‘Relentless Retribution‘ boasted a cameo from virtuosos Rodrigo y Gabriela, while 2013’s ‘The Dream Calls For Blood’ bowed at #72 on the Billboard Top 200, selling 5,400 copies first-week and earning the group’s first-ever entry onto that respective chart.

Beyond continued public praise from the likes of James Hetfield of Metallica and Robb Flynn ofMachine Head, the band’s music has popped up everywhere from Carl’s Jr. commercials to‘Leatherface: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre III’. Their fire burns brighter than ever in 2016.

Death Angel are:
Mark Osegueda – vocals
Damien Sisson – bass
Will Carroll – drums
Rob Cavestany – guitars
Ted Aguilar – guitars

Death Angel Links:

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day