The Origins Of Ace


Kiss man releases covers album

Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Ace Frehley is set to release ‘Origins Vol. 1’, an accomplished covers album featuring some of the biggest names in rock and roll, on April 15, 2016 on Steamhammer / SPV, as a digipak CD, double vinyl LP and download. Most notably, KISS front man Paul Stanley joins Ace on Free’s hit ‘Fire and Water’. This collaboration marks the first time that Ace and Paul appear on the same recording since KISS’s 1998 reunion album ‘Psycho Circus’. Other illustrious guests include none other than Slash trading leads on Thin Lizzy’s classic ‘Emerald’, Lita Ford singing and playing lead on The Troggs’ staple ‘Wild Thing’, Rob Zombie guitarist John 5 playing guitar on the KISS song ‘Parasite’ and Jimi Hendrix’s ‘Spanish Castle Magic’, plus Pearl Jam’s Mike McCreedy playing guitar on Ace’s mainstay ‘Cold Gin’.

‘Origins Vol. 1’ is the follow up to ‘Space Invader’, Frehley’s much lauded first studio album in five years, which not only charted all over Europe, but also crashed into the top ten of the US album chart on release in August 2014. Classic Rock’s Paul Elliott awarded the record 8/10, stating “His music still has the raw edge and offbeat sensibility that he brought to early Kiss and the best of his subsequent work. With cover artwork by Ken Kelly, illustrator on Kiss classics ‘Destroyer’ and ‘Love Gun’, Frehley’s new album might just be the best he’s made since 1978, when solo records by the four original members of Kiss were released simultaneously, and his sold the most. ‘Space Invader’ has brilliant heavy rock tunes. The title track is quintessential Frehley; ‘Toys’ reminiscent of Aerosmith circa ‘Rocks’. And on two other space odysseys – ‘Past The Milky Way’ and the seven-minute instrumental ‘Starship’, Ace travels to places that Kiss could never reach. Far out.” Powerplay Magazine’s Andrew Haunt also awarded an 8/10 rating, proclaiming that “‘Space Invader’ is a superb return from the legendary guitarist. Getting underway with the mid-paced rock stomp of the title track, the sound mixes the song writing punch of his iconic Kiss era along with the sleek style of his 80’s output with Frehley’s Comet and a modern production edge. It’s clear from the first track alone that Ace is on top form when it comes to the axe-slinging too.”


Track List:
1. White Room (original by Cream) 5:04
2. Street Fighting Man (original by The Rolling Stones) 4:00
3. Spanish Castle Magic (original by Jimi Hendrix, feat. John 5) 3:34
4. Fire and Water (original by Free, feat. Paul Stanley) 4:11
5. Emerald (original by Thin Lizzy, feat. Slash), 4:28
6. Bring It On Home (original by Led Zeppelin) 4:25
7. Wild Thing (original by The Troggs, feat. Lita Ford) 3:44
8. Parasite (Kiss, feat. John 5) 4:04
9. Magic Carpet Ride (original by Steppenwolf) 3:43
10. Cold Gin (Kiss, feat. Mike McCreedy) 5:17
11. Till The End Of The Day (original by The Kinks) 2:26
12. Rock N Roll Hell (Kiss) 6:32 /

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day