Signum Regis Ride The Storm


Band formed by ex Malmsteen man put out new EP

Through The Storm is a new 6 track EP from the melodic metal band Signum Regis. It was Mastered by Jacob Hansen [Volbeat, Amaranthe, Evergrey] and artwork by Jan Yrlund [Delain, Apocalyptica, Korpiklaani]

01. Living Well
02. Through The Desert, Through The Storm
03. My Guide In The Night
04. Come And Take It
05. All Over The World
06. Vengeance/Liar

Signum Regis was formed in 2007 by bass player Ronnie König. The highly respected vocalist Göran Edman [ex. Yngwie Malmsteen, John Norum] joined the band and they started to work on their debut album. The self-titled debut album was released during 2008 through Locomotive Records and received great reviews from around the world.

In 2010 Signum Regis signed with Inner Wound Recordings and released the impressive concept album “The Eyes Of Power”, still with Göran on vocals. The album was received really well, especially in Europe. With this album it was clear that Signum Regis had found their own sound within the melodic/neoclassical metal scene.

The third Signum Regis album “Exodus” was released in 2013 and it featured many different vocalists like Göran Edman [ex. Yngwie Malmsteen], Lance King [ex. Pyramaze, Balance of Power], Matt Smith [Theocracy], Michael Vescera [Obsession], Daisa Munhoz [Vandroya, Soulspell] and more. “Exodus” was a bit more straight melodic metal than the previous album, but the classic Signum Regis elements were still there.

Early 2014 the band decided to make Mayo Petranin their new lead vocalist. Mayo had already done many shows with the band and he also contributed the vocals to one of the songs on “Exodus” so it felt like a natural move. During 2013 and 2014 Signum Regis did some shows in their home country Slovakia, but they also performed in the Netherlands, Germany and Switzerland.

During 2014 Signum Regis started to work on new material and it was decided that a 6 track EP would be released in May 2015 and the fourth full-length album during fall 2015.

There are four new tracks on the EP, as well as a re-recorded version of “All Over The World” from their debut album and a cover medley of the Yngwie Malmsteen classics “Vengeance/Liar”. The “Through The Storm EP” shows that Signum Regis is a band that is constantly developing and improving everything from song-writing and musicianship to production and the visual part of the band. With this EP and the full-length album that will be released later this year, Signum Regis will surely win over many new fans in the melodic metal scene.

The mastering of the EP was handled by Jacob Hansen [Volbeat, Amaranthe, Evergrey] and the artwork was created by Jan Yrlund [Delain, Apocalyptica, Korpiklaani].

Signum Regis line-up:
Mayo Petranin – Lead Vocals
Filip Kolus – Guitars
Ronnie König – Bass, backing vocals
Jan Tupy – Keyboards, backing vocals
Jaro Jancula – Drums

Special guest on the “Through The Storm EP”: Roger Staffelbach

Signum Regis discography:
2015: Through The Storm EP [Ulterium Records]
2013: Exodus [Ulterium Records]
2010: The Eyes Of Power [Inner Wound Recordings]
2008: Signum Regis [Locomotive Records]

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day