Ready Steady Glow


MVM approved rockers find MVM approved home

Some of rock’s greatest bands share an interesting quality: Soul. Cream, The Stooges, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Afghan Whigs and Vanilla Fudge all played glorious rock at concussive volumes but were also swinging to an unmistakable beat, filtering their thunderous bluster through a soul crooner’s sensibility. Heavy Glow qualifies for that exclusive roll call.

Pearls & Swine and Everything Fine is potent proof of Heavy Glow’s deep influences. Heavy Glow constructs Pearls & Swine on a foundation of fuzz-fueled hard rock, appointed with psychedelically-tinted blues and beautifully textured washes of Motown/Memphis soul. Simultaneously, a punkish verve cattle prods the retro rock vibe squarely into right now.

For this album Heavy Glow teamed with infinitely talented producers Michael Patterson (Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Beck, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, P. Diddy, Notorious B.I.G., Duran Duran) and Nic Jodoin (BRMC, The Morlocks, Nightmare Air). Patterson and Jodoin’s concentrated methodology resulted in an album that is black hole heavy and as cohesive as the ’89 Detroit Pistons.

Pearls & Swine and Everything Fine (with brilliant cover design by renowned artist Darren Grealish, whose work includes gig posters for Queens of the Stone Age and the Melvins and graces the walls of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame) features Jared’s totally now perspective, his innate ability to focus his love of rock/soul/psychedelia through a contemporary lens to create Heavy Glow’s modern classicism, placing the band into the sonic realm shared by QOTSA and Foo Fighters.


Jared Mullins – vocals, guitars
St. Judas – drums

Joe Brooks – bass



Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day