Opeth’s Brand New Sorcery


New album details revealed

2016 marks the monumental return of OPETH, one of heavy rock’s most unique, revered and fearless bands of the last three decades.  Over the years, the experimental prog icons have continuously reinvented themselves, pushing the boundaries of their craft and expectations of fans and critics alike. Today, OPETH have unveiled the album artwork (attached) and tracklist for their 12th album, ‘Sorceress’, which will be released on 30th September.  The release will be their first for Nuclear Blast via the band’s imprint label, Moderbolaget Records.

From the album’s opener, ‘Persephone’ to ‘The Wilde Flowers’ and ‘Strange Brew’ to the album’s counterpart title tracks ‘Sorceress’ and Sorceress 2,’ the opus is an unparalleled adventure, where visions cleverly and secretly change, colours mute as if weathered by time, and sounds challenge profoundly.

“The new album ”Sorceress” is our 12th studio album since our beginnings in 1990,” says frontman and chief architect, Mikael Åkerfeldt. “I find it difficult to understand that we’ve been going on for 26 years, let alone that we’ve made 12 records now, all of which I am very proud of.  “Sorceress” is no exception.  I love this album, as does the whole band.  I wrote the music during 5-6 months and we spent only 12 days recording it at Rockfield Studios in Wales.  I find that once again we’ve taken a step forward.  Or sideways.  Or backwards. Somewhere!?  It’s different!  It’s extremely diverse – and if I may say so myself, extremely good.  I feel the right to say that since I like to think I know this band better than anyone on the planet.  Also, I always manage to detach myself from the record and listen as a fan.  It’s a fine little record.  My favourite in our discography right now. Of course!  That’s how it should be, right?  It’s both fresh and old, both progressive and rehashed.  Heavy and calm. Just the way we like it.  Hopefully there’ll be others around the globe sharing this opinion. It was a joy to make it.  A fucking joy to record it, and a sheer joy listening to it.  So there you have it!”

For ‘Sorceress’, OPETH returned to Rockfield Studios in Wales, also home to pivotal releases from Queen, Rush and Judas Priest, where the Swedes had tracked ‘Pale Communion’ in 2014 with Tom Dalgety.  The band spent 12 days recording at the countryside venue among its serene and inspiring surroundings. The result is nothing short of a powerful and intriguing record that will add yet another layer to the band’s celebrated career.

Sorceress Track List:

1. Persephone
2. Sorceress
3. The Wilde Flowers
4. Will O The Wisp
5. Chrysalis
6. Sorceress 2
7. The Seventh Sojourn
8. Strange Brew
9. A Fleeting Glance
10. Era
11. Persephone (Slight Return)

Album artwork attached.
OPETH will return to the UK for a headline show at Wembley Arena on Saturday 19th November.  Tickets are on sale now from www.livenation.co.uk.

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day