Blackout In The Monroe Room


The latest subject of MVM Meets. Excited? Moi?

MICHAEL MONROE – hugely influential front-man, force of nature, multi-instrumentalist and revered rock ‘n’ roll icon – releases new studio album, ‘Blackout States’, on October 9th 2015 via Spinefarm Records; this 13 track outing, produced by ChipsKiesbye (Hellacopters, Nomads, etc.) in Gothenburg, Sweden, and mixed by Petri Majuri in Helsinki, Finland, is the follow-up to ‘Horns And Halos’ – a Finnish chart-topper in 2013.

With ‘Blackout States’, Monroe’s current touring and recording outfit – bassist Sami Yaffa (ex-Hanoi Rocks/New York Dolls), guitarist Steve Conte (ex-New York Dolls/Company Of Wolves), guitarist Rich Jones (ex-Black Halos/Amen) and drummer Karl Rockfist (ex-Chelsea Smiles/Danzig) – provide strong creative support for a ground-breaking artist whose reputation continues to flourish, with many of rock‘n’roll’s most noted performers (including Dave Grohl and Slash) citing his unwavering drive and three-decade-plus career as a genuine source of inspiration.

As with ‘Horns And Halos’, the new recordings see Monroe both toasting the future and honouring the past, occasionally giving the nod to glam punk pioneers, Hanoi Rocks, the group he forged his name with in the early-to mid-’80s.

Says Monroe: “I’m extremely excited about our new album, ‘Blackout States’. It has all the ingredients of a perfect rock‘n’roll record – strong melodic songs with great meaningful lyrics that defy all cliches, delivered with a punky, ballsy attitude by a killer band. I highly recommend ‘Blackout States’ to anyone who’s even a little bit interested in what real, authentic, high energy rock‘n’roll at its best sounds like today.”

Layout 1

‘Blackout States’ track-listing:

  1. This Ain‘t No Love Song
  2. Old King‘s Road
  3. Goin’ Down With The Ship
  4. Keep Your Eye On You
  5. The Bastard’s Bash
  6. Good Old Bad Days
  7. R.L.F.
  8. Blackout States
  9. Under The Northern Lights
  10. Permanent Youth
  11. Dead Hearts On Denmark Street
  12. Six Feet In The Ground
  13. Walk Away
  14. Break The Noose (vinyl LP bonus track)




9th – Birmingham, The Library

10th – Sheffield, Corporation

11th – Glasgow, Cathouse

12th – Manchester, Club Academy

13th – Norwich, Waterfront

15th – London, Electric Ballroom



29th – Plymouth, Pavilions (w/Alice Cooper)

30th – Swindon, Oasis (w/Alice Cooper)

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day