This ensemble today announce what will be their first new album in five years – Everything Was Forever, set for release on 11 February 2022. To go with this new album, the band are truncating their name to Sea Power. More information below.

Everything Was Forever is heralded by the new single “Two Fingers”, one of many highlights from the album. “Two Fingers” is a potential anthem for these troubled times. The words take in mortality, defiance, HP Lovecraft and V signs. The song’s chorus centres on the gesticulation that can signal both contempt (f*** you) and resolution (V for victory). Here’s a rock song that seems to send a righteous F U to sundry self-serving figureheads of this era – but which also rides forth with hope and oppositional vigour.

The single was given its premiere today by Shaun Keaveny on BBC 6 Music, who said it has “every conceivable ingredient of a classic Sea Power track… soaring, bucolic, optimistic, defiant, gorgeous.” It will be his “Liked & Shared” feature track all week long.

“The song is part inspired by our late dad,” says co-frontman Yan. “He was always giving a two-fingered salute to people on the telly – a kind of old-fashioned drinking term, toasting people or events: ‘I’ll drink two fingers to that’, to some news item or to memories of a childhood friend. In the song it’s a toast to everyone, remembering those in our lives and those sadly no longer here and to making the world a better place. The song is ‘F*** me, f*** you, f*** everything.’ But it’s also ‘Love me, love you, love everything’ – exultation in the darkness. If you say ‘f*** you’ in the right way, it really can be cathartic, a new start.”

Hear “Two Fingers” on DSPs here and share on SoundCloud here.

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day