The wait is finally over and on June 3rdThe Cruel Intentions are finally ready to release their long awaited second album Venomous Anonymous!

Fueled by drive, love and passion this is versatile and diverse summer present to all rock’n’lovers.

The band  are reckless and intoxicating mix of old school sleaze and modern hard rock.  Bringing forth fast paced, humorous and hard-hitting music; inspired by legends, and made to captivate a whole new generation of restless and fun loving rock’n’rollers.

Though it’s been a minute since their last release (No Sign of Relief 2018), the band has been anything but idle. The writing process for Venomous Anonymous started already late 2019, and the band has been touring extensively. And the band have seen a massive growth after three of their songs was featured in the Peacemaker HBO series directed by the notable James Gunn (Suicide Squad, Guardians of the Galaxy)

On the recording process The Cruel Intentions explain:

“It was a long and brutal process but looking back it was a lot of fun as well.

We started writing music back in late 2019 and had the first music video done by August 2020. For the Venomous Anonymous album, we recorded most of the songs in the pre-production faze and then we re-wrote, and rearranged the songs until perfection. Mats recorded Kristian and Jimmy’s guitars and the bass at home and then Robin went to Mass Destruction Production in Sweden where he recorded drums with Erik Mårtensson. By the end of November 2021, we did all vocals and finishing touches with the help of Erik. We are really happy about the result and feel we ended up with a sound and expression we have worked towards since the very beginning.”

Consisting of dangerously skilled who are always out to have a great time, The Cruel Intentions was founded back in 2015 by Mats Wernerson, Lizzy DeVine, Kristian Solhaug, and Eiliv Sagrusten who soon was replaced by Robin Nilsson on drums.

Prior to The Cruel Intentions, Lizzy DeVine lived several years in Los Angeles where he was the singer and songwriter of Vains of Jenna, a band that got their breakthrough the American era of Rock´n Reality tv with performances on shows like Jackass, Viva La Bam, and Kat Von Dee’s LA Ink.

This no-fucks-given culture has no doubt shaped DeVine and his musical approach, a legacy that is definitely apparent on the forthcoming album.

Serving the perfect blend of melodrama and fun, Venomous Anonymous is nothing less than an addictive album, filled to the brim with attitude, massive riffs, and seducingly feel-good music. An album true to their genre and expression, but also an album that would take the band down new musical paths and have them explore new ideas.

On the writing process the Lizzy elaborates:

“While writing the lyrics for the album we just let creativity flow and wrote down pretty much the first things that came to mind. It became this mixture of darkness, humor, and gritty reality that we hope everyone can relate to in one way or another.

This time around the band also focused more on both the pre-production and the production stage of the album. As such the songs on Venomous Anonymous are slightly more complex with a more detailed production than on their previous album, with tracks with just a little bit more substance with regards to lyrics and songwriting.

Mats adds; “Most of the music I wrote was written during the first half of 2020 and the energy and vibe came from feeling completely free from everything as there was nothing to do. As the year progressed the sound became more, and more diverse, and the music started going in directions I never could have imagined. Something I am very happy about today. The album is the perfect score from everything from running and working out, to hardcore partying or simply having a great time! 

Now finally, after years of hard work, extensive collaboration where all the band members were involved in the songwriting process Venomous Anonymous was borne.

An aggressively melodic bombshell of an album!

Erik Mårtensson (singer guitarist Eclipse, and producer at Mass Destruction Productions) mixed and mastered the album, Erik also functioned as both the producer and guest musician on the album, contributing with backing vocals and additional guitars.

The band concludes:
“It’s been a long songwriting and recording process with closed borders, postponements, illness, cancellations of studio time and appointments because of the long going corona situation. We are now extremely happy to finally have completed an album that we are very proud and satisfied with and can’t wait to present it to a rock hungry worldwide audience.”

Venomous Anonymous will be out everywhere June 3rd 2022!

We can’t wait to present this album to the world, and bring the best rock music, and sweetest of street styles back in focus


Lizzy DeVine – Vocals & Guitar

Kristian Solhaug – Guitar

Mats Wernerson- Bass

Robin Nilsson – Drums


2Venomous Anonymous
3Sunrise over Sunset
4Casket Case
6Salt i Ditt Sår
7Final Deathroll
8Goddamn Monday
9Bad Vibes
10Chemical Vacation
11City of Lice

Follow The Cruel Intentions on Facebook | Instagram | Spotify

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day