Listen To The Guardian (Again)


Fates Warning classic is rebooted

Quite possibly one of the most influential progressive metal acts in the scene today, Fates Warning virtually created the genre back in 1984 by combining elements of pure metal and traditional prog rock. Now, for their efforts, the band has been inducted into Decibel Magazine‘s “Hall of Fame” for their third album, Awaken The Guardian – which was originally released by Metal Blade Records in 1986. To read the full 7-page story about Awaken The Guardian, be sure to purchase the latest issue of Decibel Magazine online or at newsstands now.

Awaken The Guardian is Fates Warning‘s last studio effort to feature original vocalist John Arch; it is also the first album released on the Metal Blade Records to chart in the Billboard 200, debuting at #191. Since its initial release, this seminal record has been re-issued as a 2CD/DVD set, plus black and limited transparent blue vinyl, which can be purchased at: See below for packaging details.

Awaken The Guardian LP track-listing (transparent blue LP edition limited to 1000 units!)
1. The Sorceress
2. Valley of the Dolls
3. Fata Morgana
4. Guardian
5. Prelude to Ruin
6. Giant’s Lore (Heart of Winter)
7. Time Long Past
8. Exodus

Awaken The Guardian 2-CD/DVD expanded edition track-listing

Disc 1 (CD):
1. The Sorceress
2. Valley Of The Dolls
3. Fata Morgana
4. Guardian
5. Prelude To Ruin
6. Giant’s Lore (Heart Of Winter)
7. Time Long Past
8. Exodus
Disc 2 (CD):
1. The Sorceress (Demo)
2. Valley Of The Dolls (Demo)
3. Prelude To Ruin (Demo)
4. Fata Morgana (Live)
5. Damnation (Live)
6. The Apparition (Live)
7. The Sorceress (Live)
8. Guardian (Live)
9. Die Young (Live)
Disc 3 (DVD):
Live show from the Sundance (Long Island, NY) 12/28/1986

Fates Warning online:

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day