Hiding Behind Their Masks


Aussie metallers release their latest next month

Multifaceted six-piece modern metal act Octanic, who hail from Adelaide, Australia, are set to release their epic debut album ‘The Mask Of Hypocrisy’, on the brand new Into Records label, (www.intorecords.com), distributed by Cargo, on Friday November 13th.

Octanic, who have been compared with the likes of Children of Bodom, Dark Tranquillity, In Flames and Soilwork, fuse diverse elements of hard rock, melodic death and modern metal with classical undertones, to create their own unique, distinctive musical concoction.

‘The Mask Of Hypocrisy’, which was recorded at Adelaide’s Deep Blue Studios and mixed by Roy Z (Bruce Dickinson, Halford, Judas Priest) at Mountain View Studio, Los Angeles, is an addictive blend of majestic keyboards, bone-crunching rhythms and soaring lead solos, coupled with passionate vocals and compelling lyrics.

Octanic, who have carved out an enviable reputation for their captivating, energetic and charismatic live performances Down Under, have truly captured their live vibe on ‘The Mask Of Hypocrisy’. Often technically complex and intense, yet peppered throughout with exuberant, catchy melodies and soaring choruses, the varied metal crunch of ‘The Mask Of Hypocrisy’ impresses and intrigues with every note.

Album opener ‘Aeternus Imperium’ stridently sets the tone, combining classic metal with industrial keyboards and guitar, topped by vocalist Jason Shepherdson moving seamlessly between aggressive growls and melody, occasionally assisted by the Adelaide University Choral Society. ‘King For A  Day’ takes a melodic hard rock route, heavily underpinned by synth sounds, while ‘Addict’, following a traditional piano introduction, is a mesmerizing, groove laden delight.

Other standout tracks include ‘Deadworld’, a heavy, in your face number, which combines post apocalyptic themes with a glorious choral chant, and ‘Solus’, a catchy, melodious anthem featuring magnificent fluid guitar solos, soaring vocals and lush, tinkling ivories.

Octanic are:-

Jason Shepherdson – Vocals

Daniel Cederblad – Guitar

Stefan Butler – Guitar

Andrew Baillie – Keyboards

Aaron Cains – Bass

Scott Powell – Drums

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day