Haken Off!


Brilliant proggers on tour

HAKEN are pleased to announce the release of ‘Affinity’, their fourth full-length studio album and the follow-up to their acclaimed 2013 album ‘The Mountain’, on the 29th April 2016.

Since releasing their highly praised EP ‘Restoration’ in 2014, Haken have been making waves on the live circuit, including appearances at high-profile festivals such as Hellfest, Ramblin’ Man Fair, Be Prog! My Friend and Cruise to the Edge as well as supporting the likes of Between The Buried & Me and The Neal Morse Band, a double headline UK tour with Leprous, and their first North American headline tour.

Recorded during the winter months of 2015, ‘Affinity’ marks a new approach to the song-writing process for Haken, as vocalist Ross Jennings explains; “It is the most collaborative we have ever been on an album. We wanted to develop and expand our sound by having every member contribute initial ideas from the very beginning of the process. It naturally takes longer to filter through the mass of material and fit it all together coherently, but this approach has helped to create something completely fresh whilst maintaining the core elements of Haken’s sound.”

The band once again called upon Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Devin Townsend, Between The Buried And Me) for mixing and mastering duties. “He is a wizard in this department! We are always confident his mix will bring out the best from our performance and this is no exception,” remarks keyboardist Diego Tejeida.

Like much of Haken’s previous music, ‘Affinity’ is full of surprises and ‘The Architect’, the album’s centrepiece, is no exception. Blasting through a dizzying array of instrumental insanity coupled with down-tempo atmospheric tenuity, Haken welcomes friend and Leprous frontman Einar Solberg mid-song for a spot of guest vocals! Just one of many twists and turns throughout this 60-minute musical lobotomy, Haken’s ‘Affinity’ will open up a new dimension in this UK sextet’s trajectory.

‘Affinity’ will arrive as a Limited Edition Media Book (incl. bonus disc with instrumentals), 180g Gatefold 2 LP Edition (incl. album on CD), Standard CD Jewel Case, Digital Download and Deluxe Digital Download (incl. instrumental version of the album as bonus).

The full track-listing for the album is as follows:

1. affinity.exe [1:24]

2. Initiate [4:16]

3. 1985 [9:09]

4. Lapse [4:44]

5. The Architect [15:40]

6. Earthrise [4:48]

7. Red Giant [6:06]

8. The Endless Knot [5:50]

9. Bound By Gravity [9:29]

The band has also confirmed their first European tour dates, and you can find those below:

26.05.16  London, The Garage [UK]

27.05.16  Zoetermeer, Boerderij [NL]

29.05.16  Paris, Divan du monde [FR]

30.05.16  Pratteln, Z7 [CH]

31.05.16  Lyon, Marché Gare [FR]

02.06.16  Barcelona, Razz 2 [ESP]

03.06.16  Madrid, Caracol [ESP]

04.06.16  Minnuendo Festival [ESP]

06.06.16  Milan, Legend Club [ITA]

07.06.16  Munich, Backstage [GER]

08.06.16  Karlsruhe, Substage [GER]

09.06.16  Aschaffenburg, Colos Saal [GER]

10.06.16  Berlin, Maschinenhaus [GER]

11.06.16  Warsaw, Progresija [POL]

14.06.16  Stockholm, Bryggarsalen [SWE]

15.06.16  Oslo, John Dee [NOR]

16.06.16  Copenhagen, Spillestedet Stengade [DEN]

17.06.16  Hamburg, Logo [GER]

18.06.16  Cologne, Gebäude 9 [GER]

19.06.16  Stone Free Festival [UK]

 Look out for more information in the coming weeks.

HAKEN online:




Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day