Gillan Living In Box


Legend gets vinyl treatment

Demon Records has announced the release of a new must-have Gillan vinyl boxset on 2nd September. ‘The Vinyl Collection 1979-1982’ will feature 5 chart albums – 7 LPs in total – including Mr Universe (1979), Glory Road (1980, 2 LPs, with bonus disc ‘For Gillan Fans Only’), Future Shock (1981), Double Trouble (2 LPs, 1981) and Magic(1982).

Ian Gillan was delighted with the vintage feel of the finished product: “It’s a wonderful thing, vinyl… Best held in two hands and treated with respect, as you place it carefully upon the turntable. You just bought something significant, not easily disposable. And look at the sleeves” – he comments, observing one of the records – “aren’t they cool. Read the lyrics and enjoy the artwork, while you are in the groove. No computers involved in the making of this music…enjoy”.

The 180g heavyweight vinyl records will all be exact replicas of their first pressings;Future Shock, Gillan’s highest scoring album, reaching No.2 in the UK chart, will include the same 16-page booklet as featured in its original release. An exclusive edition available via Amazon here will also contain a bonus 7” single for Spanish Guitar. Other Gillan classics featured in this priceless collection include Sleeping On The Job, No Easy Way, Trouble, Mutually Assured Destruction, New Orleans, No Laughing In Heaven, Nightmare, Restless and Living For The City.

Full tracklist as follows:

 Double Trouble – DEMREC172

Side A

I’ll Rip Your Spine Out


Men Of War


Side B


Hadely Bop Bop

Life Goes On

Born To Kill

Side C

No Laughing In Heaven

No Easy Way


Side D

Mutually Assured Destruction

If You Believe Me

New Orleans

Future Shock – DEMREC173

 Side A

Future Shock

Night Ride Out Of Phoenix

The Ballad Of The Lucitania Express

No Laughing In Heaven

Sacre Bleu

 Side B

New Orleans

Bite The Bullet

If I Sing Softly

Don’t Want The Truth

For Your Dreams

Glory Road – DEMREC172

Side A

Unchain Your Brain

Are You Sure

Time And Time Again

No Easy Way

Sleeping On The Job

Side B

On The Rocks

If You Believe Me

Running White Face City Boy


Side C

Higher And Higher

Your Mother Was Right


Abbey Of Thelema

Trying To Get To You

Side D

Come Tomorrow

Dragon’s Tongue

Post Fade Brain Damage

Egg Timer

Harry Lime Theme


Magic DEMREC175



Side A

What’s The Matter

Bluesy Blue Sea

Caught In The Trap

Long Gone

Driving Me Wild

Side B

Demon Driver

Living A Lie

You’re So Right

Living For The City


Demon Drive Reprise

Mr Universe – DEMREC171



Side A

Second Sight

Secret Of The Dance

She Tears Me Down


Mr. Universe

Side B


Puget Sound

Dead Of Night

Message In A Bottle

Fighting Man


Gillan was born on the ashes of the Ian Gillan Band in 1978, when Ian decided to abandon the jazz-fusion style of his previous project in favour of a more progressive direction, together with keyboardist Colin Towns. The band was dissolved in 1982 following the Magic tour, partly due to Gillan’s health issues with his vocal chords. Still in its brief existence they managed to release 5 top 20 albums and ride the popularity of the NWOBHM sweeping the continent.

Ascended to rock royalty status as the lead singer of Deep Purple, Ian Gillan continued making an impact on the rock scene, and has become an erudite elder statesman of the genre. He sang in the role of Jesus in the original Andrew Lloyd’s Webb’s Jesus Christ Superstar and he co-wrote and sang the iconic ‘Smoke on the Water’ among dozens of other hits. He has played to tens of millions of fans, and sold over one hundred million records.  To this day he approaches writing, recording and touring with the zeal, passion and commitment of an eighteen year old.

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day