Get A New Avatar


Concept album out in May 

AVATAR have announced a brand new concept album titled ‘Feathers & Flesh’ to be released on Friday, May 13th 2016 via Another Century in Europe and Entertainment One (eOne) in North America and Canada.

The new release will be the band’s highly anticipated follow up to ‘Hail The Apocalypse’ released in 2014. The aim is set higher, further and deeper than ever before for AVATAR. Not only is this concept album their most extensive work to date, showing the widest range of any of their albums, it also contains a story too extensive for any booklet, so they made a book. A fully illustrated 60 page, 109 verse poem hardcover book. The physical album pre order, book, and exclusive merchandise will be available directly from the band March 17th.
Click here for more info:

The band has revealed a music video for the track ‘For The Swarm’ which can be seen exclusively on the band’s website AVATARMETAL.COM

Directed by longtime collaborator and director Johan Carlén, the video pegs itself firmly into the upper echelon of stunning visual masterpieces the band has grown accustomed to producing.

AVATAR continues to raise the bar for what bands are doing visually in the current state of hard rock and metal. ‘For The Swarm’ is also available as an iTunes instant gratification track, meaning fans who pre order the album today will get the track as an instant download. Feathers & Flesh was recorded in Germany, Finland and Sweden in December 2015 with producer extraordinaire Sylvia Massy (System of a Down, Tool, Red Hot Chili Peppers).

“Avatar is an amazing band” said Massy, adding, “The singer has the wild energy and charisma I love, and the players are relentless. The album we’re making is an epic. Each song powerfully stands on it’s own, but is only a piece of a larger story. This album is the project I’ve been dreaming about for years!”

The music is as always, rooted in the extreme, with plenty of melodic sensibility and a lust for experimentation. There is a love for intense double bass drumming, riffing and shredding of timeless dimensions alongside rough edges, slow grooves and epic storytelling for the ages. The idea is that as the band digs deeper, the fists will be held up higher. The end result is a modern metal album with all the ruthlessness and power one could ask for handled with a loving songwriter’s hand, inspired by The Beatles and Queen.


‘Feathers & Flesh’ track listing:
01. Regret
02. House of Eternal Hunt
03. The Eagle has Landed
04. New Land
05. Tooth, Beak & Claw
06. For The Swarm
07. Fiddler’s Farewell
08. One More Hill
09. Black Waters
10. Night Never Ending
11. Pray the Sun Away
12. When The Snow Lies Red
13. Raven Wine
14. Sky Burial

AVATAR online:

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day