Music fans everywhere are getting another glimpse into the forthcoming album Stoned Cold Country – a 60th anniversary tribute to The Rolling Stones from some of Country’s biggest names – with No. 1 hitmaker Elvie Shane contributing a spine-tingling version of the band’s acclaimed 1968 hit  “Sympathy for the Devil.” 

On the track, Shane delivers a stirring performance, showcasing his tremendous talent to blend his distinct vocal tone with any genre. Listen to the song now and pre-save/pre-add Stoned Cold Country HERE

“‘Sympathy for the Devil’ isn’t what the title would suggest. When given the opportunity to sing on this badass record, I dove headfirst into the lyrics and book that inspired the song,” Shane says of the renowned hit and his experience recording it. “I find it to be more of a cautionary tale. All of these atrocities committed in each line were the doings of us, humans – not the Devil. So have some sympathy for the scapegoat. The message is important. I’m proud to have the chance to put my spin on it.” 

Stoned Cold Country will be released this spring on BMG, filled to the brim with reimagined versions of the legendary rock band’s catalogue. Throughout the record, which was produced by Robert Deaton, the participating artists – Jimmie Allen, Brooks & Dunn, Brothers Osborne, Eric Church, Steve Earle, Elle King, Marcus King, Little Big Town, Ashley McBryde, Maren Morris, Shane, Koe Wetzel, The War And Treaty, Lainey Wilson & Zac Brown Band – all inject their own trademark style into the revered music of The Stones across Stoned Cold Country, creating a powerful homage to one of the most enduring, trailblazing and influential bands in the world.

“This album is Country Music’s thank you to The Rolling Stones for 60 years of inspiration and providing the soundtrack of our lives. While recording the record, I was reminded that this is a showcase and spotlight on the best we have to offer as a genre,” Deaton says of the project. “From our artists to all of the musicians that played on the record, we boldly state that Country Music is second to none when it comes to artists of integrity and creativity.”

Stoned Cold Country Tracklist:

1. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Ashley McBryde
2. “Honky Tonk Women” – Brooks & Dunn
3. “Dead Flowers” – Maren Morris
4. “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty
5. “Miss You” – Jimmie Allen
6. “Tumbling Dice” – Elle King
7. “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” – Marcus King
8. “Wild Horses” – Little Big Town
9. “Paint It Black” – Zac Brown Band
10. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” – Lainey Wilson
11. “Sympathy for the Devil” – Elvie Shane
12. “Angie” – Steve Earle
13. “Gimme Shelter” – Eric Church 
14. “Shine A Light” – Koe Wetzel

Shane will be returning to the UK in March to perform as a Spotlight Artist at C2C Festival at the O2 Arena. For tickets and more information, please visit:

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day