Two of the most underrated – but widely respected – heavy metal releases of the late ’80s were undoubtedly the first pair of albums by New Orleans-based hard rock outfit, Lillian Axe – 1988’s self-titled debut and 1989’s ‘Love + War.’ And on May 12th, both will be reissued as “special deluxe collector’s editions” via Rock Candy Records – complete with multi-page booklets, essays, and fully remastered audio, shaped from 24 BIT digital technology.
Both albums can be ordered via the following links:
The band – which been led since their inception by guitarist Steve Blaze – caught the attention of metalheads during an era when bands like Ratt ruled the MTV/radio airwaves. And it just so happened that Ratt’s manager at the time, Marshall Berle, crossed paths with the band, and helped broker a recording deal with MCA Records, and in turn, enlisted Ratt’s late guitarist, Robbin Crosby, to produce the group’s debut album – spawning such standout tracks as “Dream of a Lifetime,” “Vision in the Night, “and “The More That You Get.”
Lillian Axe came back even stronger with their sophomore set, ‘Love + War,’ with Tony Platt (who had previously worked with the likes of AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Krokus) serving as producer – which resulted in such rocking tunes as “The World Stopped Turning,” “Show a Little Love,” and “She Likes It on Top.”
Soon, rock fans will get the opportunity to rediscover both ‘Lillian Axe’ and ‘Love + War,’ thanks to the good folks at Rock Candy.
‘Lillian Axe’ Tracklisting:
1.   Dream Of A Lifetime   5:18
2.   Inside Out   3:57
3.   Vision In The Night   3:20
4.   Picture Perfect   4:00
5.   The More That You Get   3:05
6.   Misery Loves Company    3:27
7.   Nobody Knows   4:19
8.   Hard Luck   4:51
9.   Waiting In The Dark   4:28
10.   Laughing In Your Face   3:51
‘Love + War’ Tracklisting:
1.   All’s Fair in Love and War   5:58
2.   She Likes it on Top   3:55
3.   Diana   4:46
4.   Down on You   4:24
5.   The World Stopped Turning   5:00
6.   Ghost of Winter   6:18
7.  My Number  3:32
8.   Show a Little Love   4:36
9.   Fool’s Paradise   4:41
10.   Letters in the Rain   4:24