Are Friends Electric?


More stuff from the busiest man in rock n roll

Black Star Riders frontman Ricky Warwick is set to release his two solo albums, ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’ and ‘Hearts On Trees’, as a double CD on 26th February 2016 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. As Ricky decided to record two separate albums, we decided to quiz him on two tracks off each album – watch as he discusses the title track and ‘Celebrating Sinking’ off his electric offering, ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’


The artwork for the double albums reflect the tone of each – ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’ showcases the electric rock and roll side of Ricky, whilst ‘Hearts On Trees’ veers more towards tender stripped-back songwriting, influenced by both Americana and, more importantly, Ricky’s Northern Irish roots.

Ricky explains: “Hearts On Trees and When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues) were written by myself and my good friend Sam Robinson, both albums depict our experiences of growing up and coming from the Greater East Belfast area, not only experiences that have happened to us but historical references and stories that have been told to us by friends and family…in saying that both albums translate those experiences on to a global scale that hopefully anyone geographically can relate to.”

The track list racks up as follows:

CD 1 ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’
1. The Road To Damascus Street
2.Celebrating Sinking
3.When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)
4. Toffee Town
5. That’s Where The Story Ends
6.Johnny Ringo’s Last Ride
7. Gold Along The Cariboo
8.The Son Of The Wind
9.If Your Not Gonna Leave Me (I’ll Find Someone Who Will)
 Bonus Tracks:
11. Ghost Town Road
12. The Whiskey Song
13. Tank McCullough Saturdays (Electric Version)

CD 2 ‘Hearts On Trees’
1.Presbyterian Homesick Blues
2.Tank McCullough Saturdays
3. Psycho
4. Hearts On Trees
5. Said Samson To Goliath
6. Way Too Cool For Snow
7. Schwaben Redoubt
8. The Year of Living Dangerously
9. Disasters
10. 82
Bonus Tracks:
11. Love Owes
12. I Can See My Life (From Here)
13. The Ugly Truth
14. Hell Or Highwater
15. Eight Bells (Demo)

Find Ricky online:

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day