DMA’S’ latest album ‘For Now’ found the Sydney trio’s fanbase swell with a rush of new devotees. It earned three ARIA Music Award nominations for Best Group,Best Rock Album and Best Independent Release, while their growing status saw it reach #13 in the UK– their highest chart position here to date.

Now the band are set to release the ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ album on July 12th. It was recorded at Melbourne’s intimate Memo Music Hall last October, with DMA’S becoming one of the first Australian bands to play the iconic MTV Unplugged session. It’s a format steeped in history following classic sets from NirvanaOasisR.E.M. and many more.

“It was the most fun I’ve had in awhile, just rearranging the songs and hearing them in a different light,”says Johnny Took“To be able to do this is a bit of a dream come true.”

Renowned for their ragged, anthemic energy often inspired by the Britpop and Manchester scenes, ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ finds DMA’S stripping their songbook back to basics. Focusing on acoustic guitar, piano, violin and cello, these new arrangements unveil fresh new perspectives on the songs. Some now carry a folk vibe, while others hone in on the poignancy of the band’s lyrics. 

The set makes an immediate statement with ‘Feels Like 37’, which substitutes its rush of spiky melody with a more reflective atmosphere. Numerous fan favourites such as‘Step Up The Morphine’‘In The Air’ and ‘Lay Down’ resonate in their new form, while the album also features their previously unreleased, violin-driven take on the Madonna classic ‘Beautiful Stranger’.

The album is now available to pre-order from It will be released on double 180-gram vinyl, CD and digital formats.

Completed by Tommy O’Dell and Matt Mason, DMA’S formed in Sydney and debuted with their self-titled EP in 2015. Their full-length debut ‘Hills End’ was their domestic breakthrough as it reached the Top 10, while the follow-up ‘For Now’ expanded their profile across the globe.

Having previously played shows with Liam Gallagher and The KooksDMA’S’ current UK presence continues with the numerous festival appearances.

The ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ tracklisting is:

1.    ‘Feels Like 37’

2.    ‘Lay Down’

3.    ‘Time & Money’

4.    ‘Emily Whyte’

5.    ‘In The Air’

6.    ‘Warsaw’

7.    ‘Beautiful Stranger’

8.    ‘The End’

9.    ‘Lazy Love’

10.  ‘In The Moment’

11.  ‘Health’

12.  ‘Step Up The Morphine’

13.  ‘Delete’

14.  ‘Do I Need You Now?’

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day