Canadian vocalist Harry Hess (Harem Scarem) and Swedish drummer/producer Daniel Flores (The Murder Of My Sweet, Find Me), have announced the forthcoming release of their fourth album as First Signal. Out on 8th April, ‘Closer To The Edge’ serves up another outstanding collection of songs, as evidenced by the first single and video from it, ‘Don’t Let It End’, which is available from today.

The likes of Pete Alpenborg (Arctic Rain), Guillermo Del Medio (Inner Stream), Alessandro Del Vecchio, Kristian Fyhr (Seventh Crystal) and Herman Nori have contributed their songwriting skills to the record, while Hess is simply on fire and Flores weighs in with a spectacular production job. It all adds up to make ‘Closer To The Edge’ an early contender for AOR album of the year.

Begun in 2010, First Signal started as a partnership between Hess and German producer Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69, Khymera) when the former’s main band were on a hiatus and Frontiers head honcho Serafino Perugino presented Hess with the idea of recording songs inspired by the first two classic Harem Scarem albums. The resulting self-titled debut effort was greeted with excellent reviews, so even when Harem Scarem rebooted and issued their acclaimed ‘Thirteen’ (2014), Hess remained keen to record further material as First Signal.

With Flores stepping in to replace Ward, a follow-up album entitled ‘One Step Over The Line’ (2016) took shape. As with its predecessor, twists were thrown into the mix and the songs covered everything from AOR to Arena Hard Rock. Greeted with similar enthusiasm from their fanbase, the recording of a third album, ‘Line Of Fire’ (2019), was a no-brainer and was another awesome slice of AOR/melodic rock for the 21st century. ‘Closer To The Edge’ maintains that tradition with ease.

new album
out 08.04.22

pre-order link

includes the single

1  Don’t Let It End
2  I Don’t Wanna Feel The Night Is Over
3  Show Me The Way
4  Don’t Look Away
5  Irreplaceable
6  One More Time
7  Closer To The Edge
8  Angel With A Rose
9  Mystery
10  The Hurting One
11  Got To Believe

Harry Hess – vocals
Daniel Flores – drums
Andi Kravljaca – guitars
Jonny Trobro – bass

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day