Nothing Imaginary Here


New Yorkers reckon they are “indelibly miserable.”

Following their critically acclaimed debut EP comprised of espionage-themed singles, New York’s own Imaginary People will release their debut full-length album entitled Dead Letterbox on November 20th. The album was produced by Kevin McMahon (Swans, Titus Andronicus, Real Estate) and mixed by Matt Boynton (Hospitality, Kurt Vile, MGMT). Combining old-school rock & roll with shimmering, synth beats, Imaginary People create a raw, authentic sound….

Formed in 2013, this fast-rising five-piece took to Marcata – a tricked-out barn in upstate New York – to record their debut. Featuring one of the most distinct and emphatic vocalists in music today (“Dylan Von Wagner sings in all caps” Pitchfork said of the former Linfinity front man, while Rolling Stone said, “Dylan Von Wagner’s shivering warble grabs you straightaway.”), Imaginary People finds that sweet spot between floor-shaking rhythms, hard-hitting strings, soulful vocals and just a hint of twang on Dead Letterbox.

Imaginary People is Dylan Von Wagner (vocals), Mark Roth (guitar), Justin Repasky (keys), Kolby Wade (drums) and Bryan Percivall (bass).

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day