Mad Max Get Thunderstruck


Classic rock veterans return

Celebrated veteran classic hard rockers Mad Max, who hail from from Munster in Germany, are set to release a brand new album, ‘Thunder, Storm & Passion’, containing 12 re-recorded classics from their three breakthrough 1980s LP’s, on Steamhammer / SPV, on August 28th. ‘Thunder, Storm & Passion’, which will be available as a high class digipak, (with a bonus 8 track ‘Live At Bang Your Head Festival’ CD), is a modern, state-of-the-art re-recorded ‘best-of’ collection of songs from the band’s very successful 1984-7 period.

Mad Max, who formed in 1982, inspired by the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal, were one of the first bands to sign to the fledgling Roadrunner Records label, alongside acts such as Metallica, King Diamond and Lee Aaron. The band’s glorious ‘Rollin’ Thunder’ (1984), ‘Stormchild’ (1985), and ‘Night Of Passion’ (1987) albums won a huge following all around Continental Europe and extensive tours with the likes of Pretty Maids, Uriah Heep, Stryper and Yngwie Malmsteen, let alone a slot on the legendary Dynamo Open Air Festival in Eindhoven. But Mad Max imploded just as they found themselves on the verge of their American breakthrough at the close of the 1980’s.

Then, following a long hiatus, the original line-up reunited and signed to SPV Records, who released the follow-up to 1987’s ‘Night Of Passion’, dubbed ‘Another Night Of Passion’, in March 2012. A completely fresh, awesome album containing 11 brand new, anthemic, groove-laden classic hard rock compositions, ‘Another Night Of Passion’, was awarded 8/10 in Powerplay by writer Martin Howell, who raved: “The band sound in great form; it’s like the past quarter of a century never happened. This is late 80’s melodic metal, pure and simple…Overall, this is an excellent melodic rock album from one of Germany’s finest.” Mad Max subsequently starred on the stages of festivals such as Rocklahoma, Wacken, Bang Your Head and Rock Of Ages, let alone on two European tours as special guests of Axel Rudi Pell. The illustrious follow-up, October 2013’s ‘Interceptor’ album, won even more critical acclaim than its predecessor. Classic Rock’s Dave Ling, who rated the album 8/10, proclaimed “Still fronted by Michael Voss of Michael Schenker fame, Germany’s Mad Max have picked right up from where last year’s ‘Another Night Of Passion’ left off. ‘Interceptor’ is another fine set of punchy, muscular and immediately hummable anthems, all featuring cool vocals.”

Now, ‘Thunder, Storm & Passion’ sees Mad Max going back to their roots to record brand new, totally updated versions of 12 of their very best tracks from the 1980’s. ‘Thunder’, (Rollin’ Thunder), ‘Storm’ (Stormchild) ‘& Passion’ (Night Of Passion), is an absolute must- have for old fans, let alone a sublime introduction to potential new fans of this mighty melodic hard rock machine.

PromoImage (11)

CD 1 (Re-Recorded Classics)

  1. Fly Fly Away 04:33
  2. Losing You 04:08
  3. Rollin`Thunder 04:24
  4. Thoughts Of A Dying Man 05:58
  5. Never Say Never 03:16
  6. Lonely Is The Hunter 05:40
  7. Stormchild 03:46
  8. Heroes Die Lonely 03:37
  9. Burning The Stage 05:35
  10. Wait For The Night 04:21
  11. Night Of Passion 03:52
  12. Hearts On Fire 03:45


CD 2 (Bonus CD “Live at Bang Your Head Festival 2014”)

  1. Burning The Stage 05:23
  2. Night Of Passion 03:53
  3. Rolling Thunder 05:03
  4. Wait For The Night 04:40
  5. Lonely Is The Hunter 06:24
  6. Never Say Never 03:52
  7. Thoughts Of A Dying Man 06:19
  8. Fox On The Run 06:25

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day