Hastings 4-piece, Kid Kapichi, have revealed brand new single ‘5 Days On (2 Days Off)‘ with an accompanying music video – watch the video HERE.  

Jack Wilson, Kid Kapichi frontman explains, “‘5 Days On (2 Days Off)’ is a homage to some of our fans who work their arses off every day, then spend all their free money and time on going to gigs. Doing that is what gets them through.”  

Here’s What You Could Have Won – the new album from Kid Kapichi – will be released on September 23rd 2022 via Spinefarm; these 11 new songs are an excellent showcase for the band’s bigger, punchier, ‘beat punk’ sound, co-produced with Dom Craik from Nothing But Thieves. Featuring comeback single “New England“- their most explicitly political song yet, with a searing guest verse from Bob Vylan – and Partygate polemic “Party At No. 10, – which was praised by Liam Gallagher on Twitter, leading to Liam asking the band to support him at London’s Royal Albert Hall. 

A behemoth of a band on and off stage thanks to the Hastingsscene that nurtured them, their best songs explore racism, in-work poverty, mental health, violence, frustration and all-consuming love with honesty and humour. All their songs come studded with barbed wire hooks, bristling with the juddering shock of lived experience, the cathartic thrill of a balled-up fist relaxing into an air punch.  



Jack says, “The title, ‘Here’s What You Could Have Won’ sums up the feeling of missed opportunity. Being dragged right at a junction when you know you should be going left or screaming at the TV whilst someone picks the wrong answer on a game show. It looks inwardly at the UK and the decisions that have been made and how they have affected us all.”   


Lead guitarist, Ben Beetham adds, “It’s not a concept album but it does have a running theme. We like to write songs about current affairs and what direction the world seems to be turning. As a result, we write as close to the deadline as possible to keep it relevant.”  



1.                  New England ft. Bob Vylan   

2.                  Rob The Supermarket   

3.                  5 Days On (2 Days Off)   

4.                  I.N.V.U.   

5.                  Super Soaker  

6.                  Party at No.10   

7.                  Cops & Robbers   

8.                  Tar Pit   

9.                  Never Really Had You  

10.               Smash the Gaff   

11.              Special  


Pre-orders for all formats are now live, HERE.  



Meanwhile, Kid Kapichi have announced a very special album release show, taking place on September 23rd, just down the road from Hastings at the iconic De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-sea.    


Limited remaining tickets are available at  

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day