Taken from upcoming album from upcoming album ‘Only Passing Through’, due on April 1st, 2022.

PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS, the California-based band featuring Ted Leonard (lead vocals & guitars), Jimmy Keegan (drums & vocals), Dave Meros (bass) and John Boegehold (keyboards), have announced the band’s third studio album titled Only Passing Through, on April 1st, 2022 through InsideOutMusic. The album is the follow up to the critically acclaimed 2020 release Prehensile Tales.

Today, the band are pleased to release the new single “Rock Paper Scissors.”  You can watch the video here:

John Boegehold comments as follows:

“This is a cheery little tune about kids and the games they once played in a dystopian, alternate universe.”

Watch the video for the first single “I Can’t Stay Here Anymore” here:

Track List:

1.     Everdark Mountain (2:50)

2.     I Can’t Stay Here Any More (6:05)

3.     Time Has a Way (13:15)

4.     Rock Paper Scissors (5:01)

5.    Much Ado (4:49)

6.     Only Passing Through (4:19)

7.    Said the Stranger (7:08)

8.     Here with You with Me (8:07)

Bonus Tracks:

9.     I’m Not Alright (4:18)

10.  Just Another Day at the Beach (3:33)

‘Only Passing Through’ is available for pre-order in the following formats:

·       Ltd. CD Edition ‘SleevePac’

·       CD Jewelcase (Canada, Mexico, USA)

·       Gatefold black 180g LP+CD (etching on Side D)

·       Digital Album 

Pre-order the album here:

Offering eight songs (and two bonus tracks) that are as varied as they are excellent, Only Passing Through is a work that will deliver on all fronts. From the opener ‘Everdark Mountain’ to the weighty ‘Much Ado’ and the 13-minute epic ‘Time Has a Way’, the album has something to please fans in all quarters. If you ever wondered what Spaghetti Western Cinema would sound like in the world of 2022 prog, have a listen to ‘Said the Stranger.’ For some jazzier stylings, lend an ear to ‘Here with You with Me.’ 

Boegehold is justifiably proud of the album: Only Passing Through picks up where Prehensile Tales left off but soon takes several stylistic detours as it progresses. Everyone involved made this album a lot of fun to make and we’re all looking forward to it finally being heard.” 


 Prehensile Tales (2020)

Pattern-Seeking Animals (2019) 


John Boegehold (keyboards, programming and production) 

Ted Leonard (lead vocals & guitar)

Dave Meros (bass and vocals)

Jimmy Keegan (drums & vocals) 


Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day