Hybris On Its Way


More from DEADLOCK!

Following the news that Margie Gerlitz has been confirmed as new permanent female singer in the band, DEADLOCK, has announced the first details of their brand new studio album including title, cover artwork, track listing & release date!

For all who missed it – Sabine Scherer has decided to leave DEADLOCK to have more time for her family and her two children.  Sabine has released a special farewell video for her fans and supporters, including the first audio sample with Margie! Check it out HERE.


DEADLOCK have risen from the ashes, scarred, but with their heads held high, fully fueled with new strength and their well-known passion for releasing their upcoming album entitled Hybris!

Hybris is set to be released on July 8th via Napalm Records and turns out to be a multi-faceted monster in terms of both shape and content.  At the same time it painfully digs through the latest events in the DEADLOCK camp. Despite the tragic death of founder and drummer Tobias Graf (immortalized with a moment of silence on the album) and the departure of singer Sabine Scherer (now replaced by Margie Gerlitz), the megalomaniac creative urge could not be suppressed.

Sebastian Reichl (DEADLOCK) on Hybris:

“Hybris is both powerlessness and hope, melancholia and confidence united, accounting for the past in the truest sense. The effort to meet your demons, to forgive and to find salvation with your own history. The release of dammed aggressions and wash away all fears. Put all wrath and anger in music and lyrics to fill with new passion. This is all what Hybris symbolizes and you can feel it every second on the album. It was our longest trip. Giving up was never an option.”

Hybris track listing:

1          Epitaph

2          Carbonman

3          Berserk

4          Blood Ghost

5          Hybris

6          Wrath / Salvation

7          Backstory Wound

8          Ein Deutsches Requiem

9          Vergebung

10        Welcome Deathrow

11        Uncivil Hands (Bonus Track)

12        Fight Song (Bonus Track)

Hybris finds its inseparable counterpart in a 90 min DVD documentary ‘The Longest Road’ that translates the album concept to visuals. The DVD track listing reads as follows:

1          Intro

2          Winter – Restart

3          Spring – Songwriting

4          Summer – Demo

5          Fall- Pre- Production

6          Winter – Recordings

7          Spring – “Hybris”

8          Credits


DEADLOCK have always been about extremes – and always will be! Fans love these Germans for every emotional force run through the raging depths of death metal, technical prowess, borderline pop-laden melodies, nods to classic metal, and casual flirtation with trance and beats.  A gripping and blunt rollercoaster ride that sees light in the blackest night – and that is something only DEADLOCK can achieve!


Hybris is set to be released on July 8th via Napalm Records. Pre-Orders will be available shortly!


Meet DEADLOCK live at these upcoming summer festivals. Much more to come:

03.07.2016 – Basinfirefest / Spálené Porící (CZ)
07.07.2016 – Rockharz / Ballenstedt
08.07.2016 – Out & Loud / Geiselwind
19.08.2016 – Summerbreeze / Dinkelsbühl
20.08.2016 – Rockin’ Rümmerschen / Wenden
26.08.2016 – Metalacker Festival / Tennenbronn




Margie Gerlitz-  Vocals

John Gahlert – Vocals

Werner Riedl – Drums

Ferdinand Rewicki – Guitar

Sebastian Reichel – Guitar

Christian Simmerl – Bass



DEADLOCK online:



Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day