Jon Reynolds & The Aches have released a live video for the new single ‘Leather Jacket’, taken from the recently released debut EP Petrichor out now via Frictionless Music.

The video features Jon performing the single with Ben Cramer, aka Old Sea Brigade, who wrote and recorded the original single with Jon while the pair were living together in Nashville after Ben had been through a nasty break up.

Regarding the new video Jon says, “One of the great things about having solid friendships with your collaborators is being able to record these performances that show where the song started.  This stripped-down version is a real look at what the song sounded like when we were writing it and really demonstrates the solid writing that grounded the tune.”

‘Leather Jacket’ is a potent pop rock track oozing with atmosphere and inescapable hooks reminiscent of a pairing between The War On Drugs and The Gaslight Anthem.

Continuing about the song Jon says, “Before a relationship ends, there is an “event horizon moment”- a realization of what’s about to happen mixed with an inability to stop it. In these moments, the slightest change in a person’s behaviour sends a clear message of impending implosion: a new haircut, different clothes, or exclusion from the most mundane activities. ‘Leather Jacket’ rides on this theme with a power pop, synth arrangement, expressing the frustration and fear that accompanies the tipping point of a dying relationship.

‘Leather Jacket’ is taken from the debut EP Petrichor from Jon Reynolds & The Aches. Centred on revitalisation themes, the tracks of Petrichor delve into depression, heartbreak and self-discovery. Surrounding the dense, humanistic lyrics is Jon’s musical signature, an evolution of modern pop rock and affecting vocal arrangements resting on an ethereal hum of timeless comfort.

The EP has been made alongside Jon’s friends and collaborators with Owen Lewis (Willie Nelson, Snow Patrol, R.E.M) on engineering and production, as well as drummer Matt Singler and Ben on ‘Leather Jacket’.

Petrichor features moments of heartfelt Americana as found on ‘Imogene’ and ‘Come Now Spring’, while this is expanded with further huge anthemic pop rock songs including ‘Heartbreak’ and ‘Love Blind’.

Jon Reynolds & The Aches first emerged in 2018 with two well-received singles ‘Undertow’ and ‘Tomorrow’s News’. Following the release and a period of reflection, Jon buried himself in the studio with Owen, Ben and Matt to work on new material. He settled into the producer’s chair with a clear sense of purpose for the Petrichor EP: sounding like himself.


  1. Imogene
  2. Heartbreak
  3. Leather Jacket
  4. Love Blind
  5. Come Now Spring