Let’s go to church: no, not only on Sunday but on this Friday! LESSMANN/VOSS — the duo featuring vocalists/multi-instrumentalists Claus Lessmann and Michael Voss (ex-CASANOVA, ex-MAD MAX; producer of acts such as Michael Schenker) — finally release their debut album, »Rock Is Our Religion« via Atomic Fire Records and take listeners on a journey into their very own temple of hand-crafted rock music. After presenting two tracks beforehand, the band have additionally launched a brand new visualizer video for their adaption of AMERICA‘s 1975 hit song ‘Sister Golden Hair’ (production: Gabriel Management today to underline the enormous variety of the record. An album that ranges between mellow tracks such as second single, ‘Take My Heart And Run’ but also more driving tunes like its title track or lead single ‘Smoke Without A Fire’ to name a few. Check out ‘Sister Golden Hair’ over on YouTube now, here:

Lessmann comments,“During the writing and recording sessions with PHANTOM 5, we found out that we both share the same love for that AMERICA song, ‘Sister Golden Hair.’ It was one of my favourite songs in the ’70s…ages go! 🙂 So somehow it was obvious for us that one day we had to record this song in our own way and to release it…and here it is! Enjoy!”

Voss recalls, “I remember, one night — when Claus and I played an unplugged show at some Italian festival — we were sitting backstage, near a swimming pool outside, meeting a wonderful soul mate: it was Robbie LaBlanc jamming around and getting warmed up before his show. We talked and discussed about our all-time favourite songs – and suddenly he started to play AMERICA’s super hit. We were really overwhelmed by his solo performance and finally convinced to record this fine tune in our own way.”

Purchase »Rock Is Our Religion« in the physical format of your choice [CD-jewelcase, coloured vinyl; first edition incl. signed band photo card], stream it or order it digitally:

Subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube & listen to ‘Sister Golden Hair’ [AMERICA Cover] and other new tracks in the »AFR New Releases« playlist on Spotify

More on »Rock Is Our Religion«:

‘Smoke Without A Fire’ OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO:

»Rock Is Our Religion« – Track Listing:

01. Medicine Man
02. Smoke Without A Fire
03. Runaway Days
04. Fight For Our Love
05. Take My Heart And Run
06. Slow Dance
07. Rock Is Our Religion
08. Something Is Better Than Nothing
09. Look Around
10. Stay
11. Sister Golden Hair [AMERICA Cover]
12. What Feels Right

Vincent Golly | drums (all except ‘Sister Golden Hair’)
Kenny Lessmann | drums (‘Sister Golden Hair’ only)
Martin Huch | Pedal Steel (‘Sister Golden Hair’ only)

Considering the two’s various collaborations – lately as members of PHANTOM V – spread over several decades,»Rock Is Our Religion« is way more than a debut: it’s rather a relevation, a bow down to genuine rock packed in 49 minutes of handmade music performed to the point. Lessmann and Voss complement each other over these 12 tracks as if they hadn’t done anything else before: from mysteriously starting opener ‘Medicine Man’ to lead single ‘Smoke Without A Fire,’ the recording of ‘Take My Heart And Run,’ circling back to one of their earlier songwriting cooperations in the ’90s, and the duo’s above-mentioned interpretation of AMERICA‘s ‘Sister Golden Hair,’ this album impressively shows that it still doesn’t need many frills to create impactful heavy music nowadays.

Self-produced by LESSMANN/VOSS, the album was also recorded and mixed by Voss at German Kidwood Studios Münstertal and Kidroom Studios Greven, only Vincent Golly‘s drums were tracked by Mathi Brandstetter at Home Studios Hamburg, GermanyChristoph “Doc” Stickel put his mastering touches on it at CS Mastering (Vienna, Austria). The spirit of the record was captured in the form of Pavel Kurbanov‘s (All4band Design artwork.

— — — — —

Claus Lessmann | lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitars
Michael Voss | lead vocals, backing vocals, electric guitars, bass guitars & keyboards


More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day