Once again, doom metal wizards AVATARIUM are set to mesmerise fans with their new dark gospel titled The Fire I Long For, which will see the light of day on November 22nd through Nuclear Blast. Today the band unveils another new track off their new record in the form of an acoustic performance video for ‘Lay Me Down‘. Check it out over on YouTube:

Guitarist Marcus Jidell comments on the video, “This song was inspired by late sixties bands such as THE DOORS and CROSBY, STILLS & NASH. We recorded this version a few days ago when having a break from promotional work for our new album. Playing music in this simple way without thunderous drums and big guitars is another passion of ours. That being said, the album version is a different beast altogether.”

The Fire I Long For is available for pre-order here:
★ Limited digipack
★ Black Vinyl
★ White Vinyl (NB mailorder and wholesale exclusive)
★ Gold Vinyl (NB mailorder exclusive)
★ Digital Download | Stream

Founded in 2012 by Leif Edling of CANDLEMASSAVATARIUM soon saw the arrival of Marcus Jidell (producer CANDLEMASS) and Jennie-Ann Smith who brought an air of charisma with her soulful grace. The band has become an entity of its own and while Leif still contributed three songs for the new album, the band’s current line-up consists of Marcus and Jennie-Ann, who are accompanied on this record by organist Rickard Nilsson and new drummer Andreas ‘Habo’ Johansson (THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM). Together, this open-minded, yet doom-laden collective draws elements of folk, jazz and psychedelic brilliance into a grandiose amalgamation that manages to maintain an almost pop-like elegance. Recorded at Studio DeepWell in Stockholm, the album was produced by Marcus Jidell, mixed by Grammy Award winner Niklas Flyckt and mastered by Svante Forsback (Rammstein).

Watch and listen to ‘Rubicon‘:
Stream or download the new single via this link:

The Fire I Long For includes nine new tracks featuring Marcus Jidell’s soaring guitar solos and Jennie-Ann Smith’s powerful vocals:

01. Voices
02. Rubicon
03. Lay Me Down
04. Porcelain Skull
05. Shake That Demon
06. Great Beyond
07. The Fire I Long For
08. Epitaph Of Heroes
09. Stars They Move

Watch as Marcus Jidell shows off his 100 year old acoustic guitar that he was gifted by his grandmother, and has lovingly restored, as he performs the main parts of the album’s first single, ‘Rubicon’ are:
Jennie-Ann Smith | Vocals
Marcus Jidell | Guitar
Andreas ‘Habo’ Johansson | Drums
Rickard Nilsson | Organ
Mats Rydström | Live
Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day