Re-issued on January 27th 2023 are the official Soen-endorsed releases, bringing their entire catalogue to one label for the first time. The re-issues are available to pre-order now via D2C at, whilst traditional retail pre-orders will be live from November 25that this location

Soen, the dynamic, mercurial, and titanic Swedish progressive metal supergroup, have decided to re-release their first two albums, Cognitive and Tellurian, on Silver Lining Music January 27th 2023, reviving these benchmark steps in the band’s progression. 

Reinterpreted as a live orchestral composition, the melodically haunting, Savia from the debut Cognitivealso appears in Soen‘s most recent release ATLANTIS, the special concert film featuring the group’s most popular compositions. Watch/Listen to the recently released Saviaat this location

Cognitive will enjoy a first-ever vinyl release, which will include the bonus track “Written” as well as full lyrics. Tellurian, currently out of print, will also be reissued on vinyl. 

Cognitive saw drummer Martin Lopez (Opeth, Amon Amarth), vocalist Joel Ekelöf (Willowtree), bassist Steve DiGiorgio (Sadus, Testament), and guitarist Kim Platbarzdis create what Lopez described as “melodic, heavy and intricate” songs which illustrated the scope, range and power potential Soen held. They would further develop those sensibilities and expand upon those dimensions with TellurianStefan Stenberg coming in on bass, and the deeper, richer melodies alongside personal performances which pushed the limits of excellence, have seen the initially-limited release album establish itself as a core album for Soen and their fans. Both albums were produced by the Grammy Award-winning Dave Bottrill, who has worked with Peter GabrielToolSmashing Pumpkins, and Muse.

Always provocative, engaging and ultimately a deeply entertaining experience, having these two rich and vital pieces of Soen‘s story released under Silver Lining Music represents a moment of principal importance to the band, with every recorded chapter of their career thus far finally in one officially endorsed home, and future chapters to come on Silver Lining Music.

Soen are currently touring North America, for a full list of confirmed dates, tickets, and additional information visit this this location

IMPERIAL North America Tour 2022:
25 November – Ottawa, ON – Brass Monkey
26 November – Montreal, QC – Le Studio TD
27 November – Quebec City, QC – L’Imperial
29 November – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
30 November – New York City, NY – Gramercy Theatre
01 December – Baltimore, MD – Baltimore Soundstage
02 December – Charlotte, NC – The Underground
03 December – Tampa, FL – Crowbar
04 December – Atlanta, GA – Center Stage
06 December – Austin, TX – Come and Take it Live*
07 December – Dallas, TX – Amplified Live*
08 December – Houston, TX – Scout Bar
10 December – Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater
11 December – Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge
13 December – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
15 December – Roseville, CA – Goldfield Roseville
16 December – Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
17 December – San Diego, CA – Brick by Brick
*Guests to Katatonia

COGNITIVE and TELLURIAN will be available as Gatefold double vinyl releases, with artwork and packaging curated by Martin Lopez.  A limited-edition “Black Friday” bundle featuring extended liner notes signed by Martin Lopez and Joel Ekelöf is available to pre-order here until stock lasts.

COGNITIVE Track List:                      TELLURIAN Track List          

DISC 1 – SIDE A:                             DISC 1 – SIDE A:
1. Fraktal                                                        1. Komenco
2. Fraccions                                                   2. Tabula Rasa
3. Delenda                                                     3. Kuraman
DISC 1 – SIDE B:                             DISC 1 – SIDE B:
1. Last Light                                                   1. The Words 
2. Oscillation                                                 2. Pluton

DISC 2 – SIDE A:                             DISC 2 – SIDE A:
1. Canvas                                                       1. Koniskas 
2. Ideate                                                        2. Ennui
3. Purpose
DISC 2 – SIDE B:                             DISC 2 – SIDE B:                             
1. Slithering                                                   1. Void 
2. Savia                                                           2. The Other’s Fall 
3. Writhen

Soen are:
Martin Lopez, Drums and percussion
Joel EkelöfLead vocals
Lars Enok ÅhlundGuitars and Piano
Cody Lee FordLead Guitar
Oleksii “Zlatoyar” KobelBass


Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day