Brain Drain


Second album on the way

KXM, the rock trio comprising dUg Pinnick (Kings X), George Lynch (Lynch Mob) and Ray Luzier (KoRn) are set to release their second studio album, ‘Scatterbrain’ via RatPak Records on 17th March 2017.

‘Scatterbrain’ is the follow-up to KXM’s 2014 self-titled debut which debuted at #31 on the US Billboard 200.  It features 13 brand new tracks and was recorded at the Steakhouse studio in North Hollywood, CA.  The album is available to pre-order at Amazon: or iTunes:  Special bundles and signed editions can be snapped up at

From the infectious riff of album opener, ‘Scatterbrain’ to the outro of ‘Angel,’ KXM have created something truly special and musically diverse.  Songs like ‘Breakout,’ ‘Calypso,’ and ‘True Deceivers’ are all sonically different, taking the listener on a musical journey.  ‘Scatterbrain’ is thematically a darker record than the debut and builds upon KXM’s developed sound, but this time explores different dynamics, drawing inspiration from prog, ska, punk and metal.

Speaking about the recording process for the new record, vocalist dUg Pinnick comments, “We wrote all the songs right on the spot and immediately recorded them, everyone doing his part and no one telling the other one what or how to play.  Just like the previous album!”  Drummer Ray Luzier adds “We wanted to use the same formula as the 1st KXM record… book studio time, come in fresh every day with a new idea, run with it and not over think anything”.  Guitarist George Lynch continues: “Basically it was ‘record-topia!’  We showed up in the studio, camped out with a bunch of gear and let the tape roll!  No pre-production, no rehearsal, no pre-written songs, every song was written as a product of an in-studio jam session.”

For further info on KXM


Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day