Originally formed in 2017 by guitarist Yoann Marrec, bassist Maxim Fedotov, and drummer Leo Goudaroulis, BLACK-OUT ARISES [BOA] are one of Paris’ newest and most promising proponents of hard-hitting, underground rock.
Newly signed to the French label, Klonosphere, for the release of their debut this March, Oneself is an album crammed with big, bold, and brutal ideas. Not just musically, but thematically too, touching on topics such as autonomy, human (in)activity and freedom.
Recorded in and around France’s strict COVID lockdowns last year, much like the band themselves, their debut is ballsy and voluminous. As Yoann explains of the band’s approach to songwriting, “we work hard to combine a mix of powerful energy and catchy songs with choruses that stay in your head.”
Stacked with promise and harking back to the glory days of 90s US alt-rock from the likes of Foo Fighters, Soundgarden and The Smashing Pumpkins, Deftones, BLACK-OUT ARISES [BOA] are a band with one foot in the past and the other pressed firmly on an overdrive peddle, pushing the boundaries of rock forward. Expansive in scope and spanning eighteen songs in total, it’s a true statement of intent from the Parisian trio who are primed and ready to show the world exactly what they are capable of.
Mixed by Jérôme Litré-Froment (Woodkid, No One is Innocent) and mastered by Jean Pierre Bouquet (Lofofora, Gojira, Les Tambours du Bronx), Oneself will be officially released on 25th March 2022 via Klonosphere. Ahead of its release, watch the band’s brand new video for ‘Rights And Acts’ here and pre-order your copy of Oneselfhere.
1. Rights And Acts [Listen]
2. All Is Gone
3. Presence
4. Addict
5. Ground
6. Fire
7. Desire To Shine
8. Dream Of Reality
9. Let’s Go
10. Stand Up
11. Now
12. Walk
13. Call
14. Play A Game
15. I’m Waiting For You
16. World
17. Snow
18. Let’s Go Tonight

Album: Oneself
Record Label: Klonosphere
Cat No.: BOA001
Formats: CD/Digital
Release Date: 25/03/2022
BLACK-OUT ARISES [BOA] on Facebook –
Twitter –
Website –
Bandcamp –
Instagram –
Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day