On the heels of his critically-acclaimed project Bettie James, the chart-topping, platinum-selling recording artist and current ACM New Male Artist of the Year Jimmie Allen will release his new album Bettie James Gold Edition on June 25th, 2021 via BMG / BBR Music Group / Stoney Creek Records. The 16-track album doubles down on Allen’s expansive love for music across genres, with nine brand new collaborations in addition to the seven previously featured on Bettie James. The album is available for pre-add and pre-save now.
Newly featured artists on Bettie James Gold Edition include Babyface, BRELAND, Keith Urban, LANCO, Lathan Warlick, Lindsay Ell, Little Big Town, LOCASH, Monica, Neon Union, Pitbull, teamwork. and Vikina.
“When it comes to music I love, I don’t really get wrapped up in boundaries or genres. I thought we were gonna stop with the collaborations with Bettie James, and then I was like man, there’s so much music out there that I love, so many artists that I love, and I just wasn’t done,” Allen says of the impetus for Bettie James Gold Edition. “There’s some Pop, there’s some Rock, there’s some Country, there’s some R&B. I got a chance to work with legends! When I was writing some of the songs, I was trying to picture each moment. I went to each artist to work with them so they could be who they are on the song and bring their greatness to the song – I feel like that’s what makes the songs better. I’m super proud of the body of work of this album and can’t wait for people to hear it.”
Bettie James Gold Edition is a continued homage to Allen’s late father, James Allen, and late grandmother, Bettie Snead, who passed away in September 2019 and February 2014 respectively.
Allen recently announced the inaugural Bettie James Fest, his own music festival taking place August 7th at Hudson Fields in Allen’s hometown of Milton, DE. The line-up features Allen headlining and special guests DJ Jazzy Jeff, Neon Union, Hero the Band, Chuck Wicks and Chase Martin. Tickets are on sale now at A proud Milton native, Allen is consistently vocal about his deep reverence for his family, hometown, and home state of Delaware. “I’m hoping their memory lives on through this festival,” he says.
Bettie James Gold Edition Track List:
1.     “Get Country” – Jimmie Allen, LOCASH
2.     “Home Sweet Hometown” – Jimmie Allen, LANCO
3.     “Flavor (feat. Vikina)” – Jimmie Allen, Pitbull, teamwork.
4.     “Somebody” – Jimmie Allen, BRELAND, Lathan Warlick
5.     “Pray (feat. Vikina)”  – Jimmie Allen, Monica, Little Big Town
6.     “Boy Gets A Truck” – Jimmie Allen, Keith Urban
7.     “Livin’ Man” – Jimmie Allen, Neon Union
8.     “Tequila Talkin'” – Jimmie Allen, Lindsay Ell, teamwork.
9.     “Forever” – Jimmie Allen, Babyface
10.  “Good Times Roll” – Jimmie Allen, Nelly
11.  “Drunk & I Miss You” – Jimmie Allen, Mickey Guyton
12.  “Made For These” – Jimmie Allen, Tim McGraw
13.  “Freedom Was A Highway” – Jimmie Allen, Brad Paisley
14.  “Why Things Happen” – Jimmie Allen, Darius Rucker, Charley Pride
15.  “When This Is Over (feat. The Oak Ridge Boys)” – Jimmie Allen, Tauren Wells, Rita Wilson
16.  “This Is Us” – Jimmie Allen, Noah Cyrus
The forthcoming release of Bettie James Gold Edition follows the monumental success of its predecessor, Bettie James, a seven-track project released July 2020 which featured a wide array of artists from across genres and generations including Brad Paisley, Charley Pride, Darius Rucker, Mickey Guyton, Nelly, Noah Cyrus, The Oak Ridge Boys, Rita Wilson, Tauren Wells and Tim McGraw. The project has since amassed more than 155 million streams, garnered both fan and critical acclaim, and further established Allen as Country’s next superstar.
2021 shows no signs of Allen’s trailblazing and rising star power slowing down. His current hit single “Freedom Was A Highway” with Paisley is currently Top 30 at US Country radio and was hailed No. 1 on Taste of Country‘s “10 Hottest Songs For Summer 2021.” The duo most recently performed on Jimmy Kimmel Live! (watch HERE). Paisley also surprised Allen during his performance of the song during the 56th annual ACM Awards (watch HERE) on April 18th, days after Allen was crowned New Male Artist of the Year. Allen will appear and perform “Freedom Was A Highway” with Paisley on July 5th as part of Good Morning America‘s Summer Concert Series on ABC before heading out on the road as special guest on Paisley’s Tour 2021.
Allen most recently appeared on the prestigious 43th Annual Kennedy Center Honors, performing “The Thunder Rolls” and “Friends in Low Places” in tribute to Honouree and multiple GRAMMY® Award, ACM Award and CMA Award-winning country music entertainer Garth Brooks. Allen also performed the National Anthem prior to the start of the 105th Running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 30th on NBC. USA Today lauded that he brought a “soulful, soothing twang to his rendition” of the song, while the Indianapolis Star praising that he offered a “gentle and powerful rendition of the national anthem that many lauded as a success.” Watch the performance here.
He will perform on the upcoming “Juneteenth: Together We Triumph – A ‘Soul of a Nation’ Special Event” on June 18th on ABC. The powerful special event will present an enriching evening of celebration and resilience in observance of Juneteenth. A collaboration between ABC News and ABC Entertainment, it will be available the next day on demand and on Hulu.
On June 19th, Allen will perform as part of the first-ever Juneteenth Unityfest, a national lived streamed event hosted by The Robert Randolph Foundation. The inaugural, multi-city event will celebrate the breadth and depth of Black culture and Juneteenth as a uniquely American experience; it will feature musical performances, inspiring remarks, films, comedy, storytelling, and appearances by civic leaders and influencers. He is also a featured artist on Apple Music’s Juneteenth 2021: Freedom Songs compilation, providing a poignant cover of “Kiss An Angel Good Mornin’” by the late Charley Pride, one of Allen’s musical heroes and collaborators.
Allen will publish his debut picture book, My Voice Is a Trumpet, with Flamingo Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers on July 13. The book is a powerful story that about speaking up for what you believe in (at any age) and celebrates the many types of voices that can affect change.
This year also saw the renewal of Allen’s worldwide publishing agreement with Endurance Music Group,  his signing of rising songwriter Tate Howell to his newly launched Bettie James Music Publishing company, and his inclusion in The Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum’s annual American Currents: State of the Music exhibit which runs through February 2022.
Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day