Ireland’s RESTIVE NATION release ‘Coma’, their first single from their forthcoming new EP ‘Lucidum‘, due out 12th June.

Capturing the intensity of NIN, Tool and Massive Attack, Dublin-based Electronic/Alt collective Restive Nation have crafted a electro-punk modern classic with ‘Coma’.
You can stream the single here:

Clocking in a just over 3 minutes, ‘Coma’ is a brain-hacking thunderous slice of dark and
brooding melodies that bust with a heart-soaring chorus that you’ll be humming for days.
The single showcases the unlimited potential that Restive Nation have become known for in their live performances and is a strong addition to their already versatile and unique back catalogue.

It is the band’s first release featuring Tony Carberry on vocals.  The lyrics revolve around themes of suicidal thoughts and the many masks the victim wears in modern day society; the lies we tell ourselves in our subconscious when experiencing a mental health crisis and stepping out to the edge into the unknown. The lyrics and music are extremely intertwined, and both help convey the daily conflict people can face deep inside their mind. The contrasts and dynamics help portray the inner turmoil one can experience when dealing with dark thoughts.

The forthcoming new E.P, ‘Lucidum‘ is set for release on June 12th and is packed with multigenre alternative influences from Depeche Mode, Tool and Massive Attack to Nine Inch Nails, A Perfect Circle, and Steven Wilson.

Formed back in 2014, Restive Nation set out as a three-piece taking on a new slant on alternative electronic-based music by fusing elements of Heavy Rock, Ambient soundscape and Progressive technical metal, creating a hybrid of pulsing, left of centre anthems that showcases the band’s enormous potential.
Having quickly established themselves as one of the most exciting live acts in the Irish circuit,
Restive Nation set about expanding the bands sound with a line-up reaching seven members, three of which include very different and versatile vocalists.
The Restive Nation blueprint is futuristic, progressive, non-bias of genre or style and respectful to the forgotten roots of previous sonic pioneers and explorers of sound.

Pre-Save link for ‘Coma’ can be found here:

The bands forthcoming new E.P ‘Luicdum’ will be rebased on June 12th.
Restive Nation are:
Chris Cahill – Production & Sound Design, Guitar, Vocals.
Ciaran Timmy Lynch – Bass.
Ben Thonett – Synth
Cion O’Callaghan – Drums
Tony Carberry – Vocals
Neal Pawney Bond – Vocals
John Atmahead – Vocals

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day