Torsten Goods is one of Germany’s most successful jazz guitarists and jazz-pop/soul singers. The prodigious skills displayed at an early age by the German/Irish musician (German father/Northern Irish mother) resulted in a scholarship to study jazz guitar in New York while still in his teens, subsequent to which he has won several awards in his home territory for a series of albums released on the ACT label. He was once reviewed by the Evening Standard as having “talent galore. Inspired by George Benson, he sings winningly and plays the guitar superbly”, while he currently sits on the latest Jazz FM playlist with a track from ‘Soul Searching’, his wonderful and very personal new creation.

Goods has also just released a cover version of ‘Keep On Running (feat Pete York)’ as a new single, explaining that “Pete was the drummer and an original member of the Spencer Davis Group and they had a worldwide no. 1 hit with this song in 1965. We first met in 2006 and have been friends ever since, while we have also toured together for a decade. We played this song live so many times and always shared the singing, so I really wanted to record this and share it with everyone :-)”

Eight long years of soul searching have culminated in what is Goods’ seventh full-length record, but also an album that can be seen as a new beginning. Although containing feel-good music influenced by Jazz, Soul, Blues and ’70s Westcoast/AOR sounds – not to mention a number of star turns by feel-good guest musicians/friends – lyrically it tells the story of his recent visual transformation brought about by the autoimmune disorder Alopecia. Thankfully, the now 42 year-old musician is otherwise healthy, but the disease has been a source of immense emotional stress; becoming accustomed to his hairless appearance is a central theme of the album, as evidenced by songs such as ‘Naked Funk’ and ‘I Had To Learn Not To Care’.

Goods wrote the latter track with the hugely successful German pop singer Sarah Connor, for whom he is also musical director. He will accompany her on several open air German festival dates in late August and September, prior to setting out on his own ‘Soul Searching Tour 2023’, for which Goods will appear with his long-term band: Jan Miserre (keyboards and piano), Felix Lehrmann (drums) and Thomas Stieger (bass). The schedule will include UK and Irish shows in November.

1  Ain’t Gotta Do It
2  Spinning Round (feat. Viktoria Tolstoy)
3  Who’s Right Who’s Wrong
4  I Had To Learn Not To Care
5  Moonlight (feat. Seven)
6  Turn The Lights Down Low (feat. Kim Sanders)
7  Carnaval De La Gente (feat. Bireli Lagrene)
8  Soul Searching (feat. Nils Landgren)
9  Walk Away (feat. Randy Brecker)
10  Naked Funk
11  Keep On Running (feat. Pete York)
12  Wade Groove
13  I’ll Do It Anyway (feat. Ida Sand)
14  Paradox Jam (feat. Magnus Lindgren)

new album
out 15.09.23
(Erminal T/Membran)


includes the singles
out 11.08.23
KEEP ON RUNNING feat. Pete York  video
all videos from Studio Sessions

Official Site  |  YouTube

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day