A Nice Flash Of Skull


First two of a brand new series of releases

The first two installments of  Paper And Plastick’s “The Sound of the Skull Series” features Textbook’s “On The B-Side (Best of 2000 –2015)” and Fallen From The Sky’s “Rebuilder, Vol. 1” EP. The limited resin skull and USB key bundle of these releases will be available on the P+P Webstore on March 4th. You can also find their releases on your preferred digital source on the same day!

9c8f02a9-314c-4277-a498-d5f12c92dae5For the past 15 years, the Chicago band Textbook has been crafting their own brand of Midwestern pop-punk inspired by bands like The Replacements, Hüsker Dü, Superchunk, The Lemonheads, Guided By Voices and many more. Sometimes pop, sometimes punk, and occasionally a little country, the band’s constant is singer/songwriter Dave Lysien’s honest approach and melancholy outlook that give the tunes an identity all their own. Formed after the break up of his previous group Not Rebecca, Lysien has called on a group of friends to fill out the band which has included members of Dan Vapid and The Cheats, Noise By Numbers, Oblivion, and The Bomb. To celebrate the band’s 15th year, comes the record “On The B-Side (Best of 2000 –2015)”. This collection of songs spans the entire Textbook catalog and features production by Matt Allison (Alkaline Trio, Lawrence Arms), John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr., Motion City Soundtrack), and Mike Haigler (Wilco, Neko Case). These 16 songs are re-mastered, feature guest spots by Chicago punk legends Jeff Pezzati (Naked Raygun) and Dan Vapid (Methadones, Screeching Weasel, Riverdales), an unreleased acoustic version of the song “Dear You, Dear”, and a cover song by the UK band Chillerton.



Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day