Youth Gone Wild?


New EP this Spring

Lincolnshire four-piece ‘The Ultraviolet’ have unveiled plans for their debut EP ‘The Tales of Our Youth’ to be released on March 21st. This will be the band’s newest music since the release of their debut single ‘Wake Up Dead’ last year.

As guitarist Sam Beck explains: “The EP is inspired by experiences and situations we’ve been through personally, and touches on a number of issues such as dealing with the past, and how you grow as a person from those lessons. With it being such a public display of our personal feelings and thoughts, we hope that this will create a bond between us and the listener. We’ve been working on these songs for nearly three years with the recording process beginning almost two and a half years ago, so it has definitely been a labour of love!”.

With a sound that can most accurately be described as Alternative Rock with a dash of Pop-Punk, The Ultraviolet explain that ‘The Tales of Our Youth’  is all about the band establishing themselves with a distinct yet accessible brand of music.  Lead vocalist Ben Thorn reveals: “With this being our debut EP, our goal is to establish who and what we are as a band. We want the EP to resonate with listeners, and hopefully they will recognise the love and creative effort that has gone into it!”.

Drummer Russ Smith agrees, clarifying: “We worked hard on the construction of the tracks, and we always endeavoured to bring our own quirky, genuine and original feel to the songs.

The thought given to songs is clear, from the poppy,bouncy riff of ‘You’re Better On Your Own’, to the moody, heartfelt vocals layered throughout ‘Signal Flare’.

The band have spent the past year honing their live show, securing major support slots alongside the likes of Lonely The Brave, Hunter & The Bear, Anavae, My Heart Is A Metronome, Grumble Bee and Like Torches.
Track Listing
  1. You’re Better On Your Own
  2. Signal Flare
  3. I Wrote You A Letter
  4. Wake Up Dead
  5. All I Need Is To Be Needed
The Ultraviolet are:
Lead Vocals – Ben Thorn
Guitar – Sam Beck
Bass and Vocals – Emilio Parla
Drums – Russ Smith
Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day