Fresh from their show-stopping performance representing Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest grand final, The Rasmus return with new single ‘Rise’. Co-written and produced by Desmond Child, ‘Rise’ is an energetic rock track with orchestral flourishes and one of the most aggressive songs from the band in a long time.

Singer Lauri explains: ”Rise is about the struggle of fighting a battle against depression. Covid was the last straw for many people having mental health issues, including myself. In the music video the dancers playing ”the roots” represent the evil force and they are trying to pull us down underground. Still, the song has a positive message, which is not to give up no matter how hard life treats you.”

Listen to ‘Rise’ and watch the music video here:

The Rasmus’ new album, also titled ‘Rise’, will be released on September 23rd via Playground Music. Produced by Desmond Child and Joshua, the album will feature tracks with former guitarist Pauli Rantasalmi, as well as recordings with new guitarist Emilia ‘Emppu’ Suhonen. While the full tracklist is yet to be revealed, the artwork, created by Henrik Walse and featuring photos by Venla Shalin, can be seen below.

‘Rise’ will be available in digital format as well as CD, LP and a special limited and numbered box set (Iimited to 1000 copies) with LP, CD, logo pin, signed card and 48 page 12“ sized booklet including photos, lyrics and liner notes. Preorder here:

The Rasmus are set to perform alongside internationally acclaimed acts Alice Cooper, Bonnie Tyler and Desmond Child at a special benefit concert ‘Desmond Child Rocks The Parthenon’ at the Odeon of Herodes Atticus, Greece on 27th June. The concert is in support of an ongoing global campaign for the reunification of the Sculptures of the Parthenon.

The Rasmus will follow up with a string of Finnish festivals this Summer before heading out on an EU/UK tour in October/November.

THE RASMUS TOUR 2022 – Find tickets here:

Mon 10 – Germany Hamburg Markthalle
Tue 11 – Germany, Berlin, Metropol
Wed 12 – Poland, Warsaw, Proxima
Thu 13 – Poland, Krakow, Kwadrat
Fri 14 – Germany Leipzig Taubchental
Sat 15 – Czech Rep. Prague Forum Karlin
Mon 17 – Hungary Budapest BNMC
Tue 18 – Austria Vienna Ottakringer Brauerei
Wed 19 – Germany Munich Neue Theaterfabrik
Fri 21 – Italy Milan Fabrique
Sat 22 – Switzerland Bern Bierhubeli
Sun 23 – France Paris La Maroquinerie
Mon 24 – Luxembourg Esch-Sur-Alzette Rockhal
Tue 25 – Germany Wiesbaden Schlachthof (Halfhouse)
Thu 27 – Germany Cologne LMH
Fri 28 – Holland Haarlem Patronaat
Sun 30 – England Nottingham Rock City
Mon 31 – England Manchester O2 Ritz

Tue 01 – Scotland Glasgow Garage
Wed 02 – England Bristol O2 Academy
Thu 03 – England London O2 Forum Kentish Town

Lauri Ylönen – vocals
Eero Heinonen – bass
Emppu Suhonen – guitars
Aki Hakala – drums

THE RASMUS online:

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day