Earlier this year, Marillion entered the studio with the intention to record selected songs from their rich catalogue along with friends from the orchestra.
Recorded at The Racket Club and Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios, and with a running time of almost 80 minutes, “With Friends From The Orchestra” features nine classic Marillion tracks re-imagined and accompanied by the In Praise Of Folly String Quartet with Sam Morris (French Horn) and Emma Halnan (Flute).

Marillion explain: “So our brilliant producer and collaborator Michael Hunter wrote some new string arrangements and we took a week out to go to Real World Studios and record with our friends. The result has exceeded our expectations, is indeed a thing of beauty.

We hope you enjoy the songs and agree with us that some of them are actually better than the originals(!). Whether or not you agree with that bold statement we’re sure this work will move you.”

Estonia“, originally from 1997’s album “This Strange Engine” and the first song to be revealed from the album, gives a first insight into the hauntingly beautiful and touching versions of some of the band’s most beloved songs.

The official video grants an exclusive peek behind the scenes of the album recording sessions and can be watched on Marillion’s official Youtube channel: https://youtu.be/c1UEHTMHkxM

With Friends From The Orchestra” is going to be released on earMUSIC as CD Digipak2LP Gatefold (180g), Limited & Coloured 2LP and Digital on November 29th, 2019.

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day