Sea Power are today releasing their much-anticipated new album Everything Was Forever, their first full length together for 5 years. With the album release, a previously unheard song “Transmitter” is out now. Guitarist Martin Noble comments: “The music came from an enduring love & addiction of Foggy Notion & Sister Ray by the Velvet Underground and our soundtracks. The end result is far from this, but everything morphs, falls apart & reforms as some new entity. I didn’t want any gloom or foreboding. Just indefatigable, uplifting & infectious spirit. Carry on regardless with a skip in your step.”

Hear “Transmitter” and the album in full here.

Putting change and growth on the agenda, Everything Was Forever’s announcement was accompanied by news that the band would be dropping the word “British” from their name. The ensuing international news headlines couldn’t drown out the power of the band’s first new music, however. Through the troubled-times anthemia of lead single “Two Fingers”, the bubbling electronica on follow-up “Folly”, and the rousing “Green Goddess” – each of which was playlisted by BBC 6 Music – Sea Power opened up a brand-new era for themselves, while holding onto all that has made them such a beloved fixture of UK music.

In an explanatory article in The Guardian, the band wrote of their fascination for the elemental force of the sea and of their long-standing enthusiasm for the sea as a source of sustainable energy: “Removing the word ‘British’ does NOT indicate any aversion to the British Isles whatsoever. We all feel immensely fortunate to have grown up in these islands. We love these lands – the physical beauty, our diversity, our people, our culture and much of our history. But now we are just Sea Power – staring out at the wonderful waves, a pastime this island nation understands more than most.”

The title for the Everything Was Forever album was inspired by Alexei Yurchak’s 2006 book Everything Was Forever, Until It Was No More: The Last Soviet Generation, a compelling overview of Russia as Glasnost and Perestroika ushered in amazing changes. For Sea Powe, the phrase Everything Was Forever suggests both sonorous fatalism and an admonitory clarion call – act now regarding our planet or soon reach a state where action is impossible. The album is perhaps the band’s most diverse, ranging from the meditative prettiness of Scaring At The Sky and Fire Escape In The Sea to the galvanising clarion call of Two Fingers, a track that has already sounded out powerfully from radio sets around the world. The album’s subject matter moves from fury and wonder at the whole wide world to a spectral memoir from a Lakeland childhood.

Supported by their ever-loyal fans, who have very generously crowd-funded the making of the album, Sea Power have been able to get through the ravages of Covid and will be back on the road for headline UK tour dates this April. But not before a series of intimate in-store performances take place in support of the album over the next few days.

Sea Power – In-store performances and signings:

Feb 19 – Pryzm, Kingston Upon Thames (w/ Banquet Records) – Tickets here
Feb 20 – Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, UK (w/ Crash Records) – Tickets here
Feb 21 – Rough Trade East, London, UK – Tickets here
Feb 22 – The Cavern, Liverpool, UK (w/ Jacaranda Records) – Tickets here
Feb 23 – Rough Trade, Nottingham, UK – Tickets here

Sea Power will also play the following venues on their upcoming UK headline tour. Tickets can be purchased here. Full details below.

April 2022

Tuesday 12 – 1865, Southampton
Wednesday 13 – O2 Institute 2, Birmingham
Thursday 14 – Roundhouse, London
Tuesday 19 – O2 Academy, Bristol
Thursday 21 – Leadmill, Sheffield
Friday 22 – St Lukes, Glasgow
Saturday 23 – Albert Hall, Manchester

Sea Power – Everything Was Forever album artwork | Download hi-res here

Everything Was Forever track listing:

1. Scaring At The Sky
2. Transmitter
3. Two Fingers
4. Fire Escape In The Sea
5. Doppelgänger
6. Fear Eats The Soul
7. Folly
8. Green Goddess
9. Lakeland Echo
10. We Only Want To Make You Happy

Sea Power are:

Jan Scott Wilkinson – vocals / guitars
Neil Hamilton Wilkinson – vocals / guitars
Martin Noble – guitars
Matthew Wood – drums
Abi Fry – viola
Phil Sumner – keyboards / cornet

Sea Power: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day