Michigan metalcore band OF VIRTUE are taking a victory lap with the release of a Deluxe Edition of their critically celebrated album What Defines You on November 20th via SharpTone Records. It will feature 7 unreleased tracks including acoustic versions, remixes and b-sides. Today, the band has dropped an unplugged version of their fan favourite song ‘Torn Apart’.


Torn Apart as a song is our way of saying “no matter what may happen to you, you are not alone and there is a light at the end of the tunnel.” Far too often, we are so caught up in our own lives that we forget to check in on others that may be going through the same things that we are as well. By stripping everything away, just having the acoustic guitars and vocals, it was a way for us to showcase the fragility of situations such as these along with diving deeper into the emotions many of us may face. That is also why we chose to partner with HeartSupport – who we felt understood the vision and message of the song very well.” – Damon Tate, Of Virtue.

Formed in Lansing, Michigan with the concept of bringing positivity to their listeners, OF VIRTUE came out strong with their 2009 EP To Breathe Again. It was this which catapulted them into the ears of many listeners eager for something new, something real. Knowing that they had captured the attention of a fan-base within an exhausted genre, their first full album, Heartsounds, helped define a message of inspiring people across the globe to find their passion through OF VIRTUE‘s music. The band followed in 2012 with Learn/Love, a limited release EP. In 2015, the band added more power to their sound via Salvation, an album which has grown to be a staple for the band’s sound. After introducing Tyler Ennis as a new vocalist in 2017, the band strived to try something completely different from anything they’d done before. It was then when the band began their journey towards the new album, What Defines You.

What Defines You (Deluxe Edition) Track Listing:
1. No Control
2. Alone
3. Suffer
4. Immortal
5. Thanks For Nothing (explicit)
6. Pictures Of You
7. I Won’t Break
8. Surrounded
9. Torn Apart
10. Confide In Me
11. Torn Apart (Acoustic)
12. Pictures Of You (Reimagine) ft. Patrick Harney
13. Thanks For Nothing (Outrun Remix)
14. Suffer (Grit Remix)
15. Alone (Avoid Remix)
16. Ghost Town (B-Side)
17. Death : Reality (B-Side)

More from What Defines You:
‘Thanks For Nothing’ Music Video –
‘Suffer’ Music Video –
‘Surrounded’ Music Video –
‘Torn Apart’ Music Video –
‘No Control’ Music Video –
‘Alone’ Music Video –

More Information:

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day