The Two Sides To Every Ricky


The hardest working man in rock – and MVM Ed Andy’s favourite – Ricky Warwick, explains all

Black Star Riders frontman Ricky Warwick is set to release not one but TWO solo albums next month. The electrifying ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’ and the beautifully acoustic‘Hearts On Trees’ will be released as a double CD on 26th February 2016 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. We wondered why Ricky decided on recording two separate albums, which he discusses in today’s new album trailer.

Warwick released the title track from the electric album, ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’ recently.


The artwork for the double albums reflect the tone of each – ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’ showcases the electric rock and roll side of Ricky, whilst ‘Hearts On Trees’ veers more towards tender stripped-back songwriting, influenced by both Americana and, more importantly, Ricky’sNorthern Irish roots.

Ricky explains: “Hearts On Trees and When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues) were written by myself and my good friend Sam Robinson, both albums depict our experiences of growing up and coming from the Greater East Belfast area, not only experiences that have happened to us but historical references and stories that have been told to us by friends and family…in saying that both albums translate those experiences on to a global scale that hopefully anyone geographically can relate to.”

The release  boasts an array of acclaimed musicians with guests such as; Joe Elliot (Def Leppard), Damon Johnson (Thin Lizzy/Black Star Riders), Andy Cairns (Therapy?), Billy Morrison (Billy Idol), Nathan Connolly (Snow Patrol), Ginger Wildheart, Jake Burns (Stiff Little Fingers), Richard Fortus (Guns ‘N’ Roses/The Dead Daisies) and Mark Thwaite (The Mission, Peter Murphy).

The album is currently available to pre-order on a number of formats, below:
CD + Standard Vinyl (includes a limited hand signed insert!) –
Limited Edition Vinyl –
Limited Edition T-Shirt and CD Bundle –
iTunes –​

The track list racks up as follows:

CD 1 ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’
1. The Road To Damascus Street
2.Celebrating Sinking
3.When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)
4. Toffee Town
5. That’s Where The Story Ends
6.Johnny Ringo’s Last Ride
7. Gold Along The Cariboo
8.The Son Of The Wind
9.If Your Not Gonna Leave Me (I’ll Find Someone Who Will)
 Bonus Tracks:
11. Ghost Town Road
12. The Whiskey Song
13. Tank McCullough Saturdays (Electric Version)

CD 2 ‘Hearts On Trees’
1.Presbyterian Homesick Blues
2.Tank McCullough Saturdays
3. Psycho
4. Hearts On Trees
5. Said Samson To Goliath
6. Way Too Cool For Snow
7. Schwaben Redoubt
8. The Year of Living Dangerously
9. Disasters
10. 82
Bonus Tracks:
11. Love Owes
12. I Can See My Life (From Here)
13. The Ugly Truth
14. Hell Or Highwater
15. Eight Bells (Demo)

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day