Atlanta-based rockers ROYAL THUNDER are proud to announce their fourth studio album, ‘Rebuilding The Mountain’, which will see a June 16, 2023 release on Spinefarm. The upcoming full-length is the trio’s first studio release in six years, dating back to 2017’s ‘Wick’ LP.

Addressing some of the creative drivers surrounding their new album, guitarist Josh Weaver says:

“It was really a special time writing and working on this record. There were a lot of hardships we had prior to the pandemic and during, as everyone experienced. The band dissolved and toxic behavior became a priority over the music, addiction being the number one factor for things falling apart. We reconnected with our drummer, Evan Diprima, during the pandemic. We agreed that we needed to get our priorities straight and do the band uncompromisingly right, as in right for us. There was a huge void in us, not playing. We started writing our album immediately.  We surrendered our heart and soul to each song. It felt good to work hard and create, to have what felt like a second chance to be a band again. We are thankful for the music and the healing it has brought us. We hope that the music will be a source of hope, inspiration, and healing to all that hear it.”

To commemorate the announcement of Rebuilding The MountainRoyal Thunder have dropped the second single off the record, titled “Fade”. Speaking about the new track, lead vocalist/bassist Mlny Parsonz shares’Fade’ is a reminder to me that despite the exchange of positive and negative energy, we can heal all of our connections. We don’t have to live with our pain, we have the power to change how we interact with it and others.”

Watch the music video for “Fade” HERE!

‘Rebuilding The Mountain’

Second chances in music—as in life—are rare. In a gated ecosystem that is set up to prevent even first chances, getting a do-over hardly ever happens. Perhaps no one in 2023 appreciates that more than the members of Royal Thunder. After losing a key member and eventually collapsing entirely under the weight of excess, the beloved Georgia trio have reunited and returned with their first album in six years. 

For vocalist/bassist Mlny Parsonz, guitarist Josh Weaver and drummer Evan Diprima, the title of their fourth record tells the tale: Rebuilding the Mountain. For Diprima, who left the band in early 2018, it’s a long-awaited homecoming.  Weaver and Parsonz reconnected with Diprima long-distance at the height of the pandemic in 2020. They spent about a year exchanging demos and song ideas online before finally getting in the same room together to write this album.

Recorded at West End Sound in Atlanta,Rebuilding the Mountain was engineered by Tom Tapley and Miles Landrum and co-produced by Royal Thunder and Tom Tapley. It marks the first time the band has recorded live in the studio.

Royal Thunder is

Mlny Parsonz – vocals, bass

Josh Weaver – guitar

Evan Diprima – drums

Watch the previous video for “The Knife” HERE



More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day