Primal rock trio The Velveteers share their new single and video Father of Lies. The track, which premiered yesterday with Flood Magazine, is off the band’s debut album, Nightmare Daydream, produced by GRAMMY Award-winning artist Dan Auerbach and due October 8 via Easy Eye Sound; pre-order and stream HERE. The band is also set to tour this fall as the sole support for genre-bending rocker Des Rocs; order tickets HERE.

“‘Father of Lies’ is about having a little devil who likes to sit on your shoulder and whisper in your ear. It’s about battling the evil voices in your head,” says lead singer/guitarist Demi Demitro. “The chorus instrumental guitar riff is one of my favorite riffs on the album because I think it really embodies this sort of heaviness that the song carries.” The track follows 

Brightest Light,”  “Motel #27,” which Under the Radar called “fresh, nasty, and primal” and the album’s lead single “Charmer And The Snake.”

The Velveteers, made up of Demitro and dual drummers Baby Pottersmith and Jonny Fig, opened for Guns N’ Roses last month at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, CO, underscoring their reputation for uniquely energetic live performances. Westword praised the show in their recent cover story about the band, writing: “Audience members around me were mesmerized as Fig and Pottersmith smashed their drums in sync and Demitro sang with unparalleled intensity” and further calling Nightmare Daydream “heavy, raw and filled with the spit-and-fire passion that makes the Velveteers stand out among competitors, a reminder that rock, as a genre, is far from dead.”

Growing up in Boulder, CO, Demitro rebelled through her guitar, practicing up to nine hours a day and neglecting schoolwork to develop a playing style that is heavy but agile, theatrical but nuanced, grounded in rock history but wholly idiosyncratic. With drummers Baby Pottersmith and Jonny Fig playing on a conjoined set, the band developed a reputation for their riotous performances. Clips of the band’s live shows and DIY videos made it back to Auerbach, who invited them to his studio in Nashville to produce Nightmare Daydream. The album finds The Velveteers stripping down rock and roll to its most primal elements—the riff, the rhythm, the snarl—and rebuilding it in their own image.


1. Dark Horse

2. Motel #27

3. Father Of Lies

4. Bless Your Little Heart

5. Charmer And The Snake

6. Brightest Light

7. What A Smile Can Hide

8. Choking

9. Nightmare Daydream

10. Beauty Queens

11. Devil’s Radio

12. Limboland

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day