Easy Eye Sound have announced Tell Everybody! (21st Century Juke Joint Blues From Easy Eye Sound) – an anthology surveying the current state of the blues coming August 11. Featuring exclusive recordings cut at Easy Eye Sounds’ Nashville studio, this snapshot of 21st century juke joint music captures a wide-ranging collection of voices compiled by the Billboard 2022 Blues Label of the Year and its founder Dan Auerbach.

Drawing from across the blues landscape – from acoustic anthems to roiling rock’n’roll – Tell Everybody! features masters like North Mississippi’s R.L. Boyce, Bentonia’s Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes and the Delta gospel sounds of Leo ‘Bud’ Welch; alongside brilliant youngbloods like Detroit duo Moonrisers, Chicago’s Gabe Carter, and Korean-American Kentucky native Nat Myers.
Title track ‘Tell Everybody’ highlights high-powered Louisiana singer-songwriter-guitarist Robert Finley backed by Hill Country blues legends Kenny Brown (guitar), Eric Deaton (bass) and Kinney Kimbrough (drums).

Watch the video for ‘Tell Everybody’ here:

In addition to producing Tell Everybody! – Auerbach shares a pair of never-before-heard tracks from both The Black Keys (‘No Lovin”) and his solo work with ‘Every Chance I Get (I Want You In The Flesh)’. Auerbach can also be heard as a member of The Arcs, alongside Joe Walsh backing the late Ohio blues hero Glenn Schwartz; a seminal if unsung guitar mentor for both Auerbach and Walsh alike. They collaborate on a blues reinvention of ‘Daughter Of Zion’ from Schwartz’s All Saved Freak Band.

Other notable interpretations on the album include Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes’ take on ‘Catfish Blues’- originally recorded in 1941 by Robert Petway and later popularized by Muddy Waters – and Leo ‘Bud’ Welch’s take on Reverend Oris Mays’ late 60s gem ‘Don’t Let The Devil Ride’.
Tell Everybody! continues a commitment to upholding and preserving the blues that sits at the core of Easy Eye Sound’s mission. Since Easy Eye Sound’s inception in 2017, the label and founder Dan Auerbach have received multiple GRAMMY nominations, including Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes’ nomination for Best Traditional Blues Album in 2020.
For more info visit:
Preorder Tell Everybody! here:
Tell Everybody! (21st Century Juke Joint Blues From Easy Eye Sound) Track List
RL Boyce – Coal Black Mattie
Robert Finley – Tell Everybody
Moonrisers – Tall Shadow
Dan Auerbach – Every Chance I Get (I Want You In The Flesh)
Jimmy “Duck” Holmes – Catfish Blues (Mono)
Gabe Carter – Anything You Need
Nat Myers – Willow Witchin’
Leo Bud Welch – Don’t Let The Devil Ride (Mono)
The Black Keys – No Lovin’
Glenn Schwartz – Daughter Of Zion (Featuring Joe Walsh)
Gabe Carter – Buffalo Road
Glenn Schwartz – Collinwood Fire

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day