To celebrate the release of their astonishing debut album, Up The BracketThe Libertines are releasing a 20th Anniversary Edition on multiple formats, through Rough Trade, on October 21st 2022. 

In addition to a remaster of the original Up The Bracket album, produced by Mick Jones (The Clash), the Super Deluxe Edition also includes a remarkable 65 previously unreleased recordings including many original demos, radio sessions and live recordings all helping to chart the making of Up The Bracket, plus a live recording from the 100 club in 2002. It also contains a 60 page book with a foreword by Matt Wilkinson, new interviews with the band by Anthony Thornton and many unseen photos and memorabilia.

To coincide with the release the Libertines will be performing the album in its entirety along with a selection of choice nuggets from their peerless back catalogue. For the Wembley show, for one night only, the band have chosen two of their favourite bands from the class of 2002 to support them – The Cribs and The Paddingtons. Also on the bill will be rising star, and darling of the Arsenal terraces, Louis Dunford, along with recording artist and DJ, Amazonica, on the decks. The full dates are:


1st Manchester Castlefield Bowl  

23rd London Wembley Arena

30th Bristol  O2 Academy  SOLD OUT


5th Cardiff University Great Hall  

8th Edinburgh O2 Academy 

The Libertines also appear at four UK Festivals this summer:


24th Pilton, Somerset Glastonbury Festival SOLD OUT


6th Bingley Bingley Weekender

28th Portsmouth  Victorious Festival


2nd Coventry Godiva Festival

Tickets for all shows are available from:

Up The Bracket 20th Anniversary Editionis available to pre-order now: on the following formats:

  • Super Deluxe Box set – strictly numbered limited edition of 4,000

Vinyl ‘Up The Bracket’ (Remastered),’Live at the 100 Club’, 7″ blue vinyl ‘Up The Bracket’ and 7″ red Vinyl ‘Time For Heroes’ (in their original sleeves), 2 CD’s of Out-takes, Demos, Radio sessions and live recordings, cassette of 20 early demos, DVD including HD versions of ‘Up The Bracket,’ Time For Heroes,’I get Along’ & exclusive bonus footage and a 60 page Book.

  • Deluxe Double Vinyl, ‘Up The Bracket’ (Remastered) and ‘Live at the 100 Club’ on black and Indie store exclusive on red vinyl.
  • Deluxe Double CD, ‘Up The Bracket’ (Remastered) and ‘Live at the 100 Club’.
  • Digital download, ‘Up The Bracket’ (Remastered)and ‘Live at the 100 Club’

Full track details:

  • Vinyl 1 ‘Up The Bracket’ Remastered 2022 (Black Vinyl)
  1.   Vertigo
  2.   Death On The Stairs
  3.   Horrorshow
  4.   Time For Heroes
  5.   Boys In The Band
  6.   Radio America
  7.   Up The Bracket
  8.   Tell The King
  9.   The Boy Looked At Johnny
  10.   Begging
  11.   The Good Old Days
  12.   I Get Along
  • Vinyl 2 – ‘100 Club Live 4/10/02’ (White Vinyl) 

1.   Horrorshow

2.   Vertigo

3.   The Delaney

4.   What A Waster 

5.   Begging

6.   Time For Heroes

7.   Death On The Stairs

8.   Boys In The Band

9.   I Get Along

  • 7″ Vinyl – Up The Bracket (Blue Vinyl) 

A. ‘Up The Bracket’ AA. ‘Boys In The Band’

  • 7″ Vinyl – Time For Heroes (Red Vinyl) 
  1. ‘Time For Heroes’ B. ‘The 7 Deadly Sins (demo)’
  • CD 1 – Album Studio Outtakes 

1.   Up The Bracket – Take 4

2.   Vertigo – Take 2 

3.   The Ha Ha Wall – Take 1

4.   Horror Show – Take 3

5.   Bangkok – Take 1 

6.   Time For Heroes – Take 3 

7.   Begging – Take 1 

8.   What A Waster – Take 1 

9.   Breck Road Lover – Take 1 

10.  Never Never – Take 2 

11.  Tell The King – Take 1 

12.  The Domestic – Take 1 

13.  Don’t Talk To Me – Take 1 

14.  The Wolfman – Take 2 

15.  Radio America – Take 2 

16.  The Good Old Days – Take 1 

17.  The 7 Deadly Sins – Take 3 

18.  Sweets – Take 4

19.  Mocking Bird – Take 6 

20.  Boys In The Band – Take 1 

21.  Skag & Bone Man – Take 2 

  • CD 2 – Demos/Radio Sessions/B-Sides/Live etc – 

1.   Vertigo – Demo 

2.   The Boy Looked At Johnny – Demo

3.   Death On The Stairs – Demo

4.   Horror Show – Demo

5.   All At Sea (Misty) – Demo

6.   Wolfman – Demo

7.   Plan A – Demo 

8.   Up The Bracket – Evening Session 

9.   Boys In The Band – Evening Session 

10.  Time For Heroes – Evening Session 

11.  I Get Along/Mayday – Evening Session 

12.  Jo Whiley – Christmas Live Lounge 

13.  Skag & Bone Man – Up The Bracket B-Side

14.  The Delaney – Up The Bracket B-Side

15.  Plan A – Up The Bracket B-Side

16.  General Smuts (Demo) – Time For Heroes B-Side 

17.  Bangkok (Demo) – Time For Heroes – B-Side

18.  Mr. Finnegan (Demo) – Time For Heroes B-Side 

19.  Sally Brown (Demo) – Time For Heroes B-Side 

20.  The 7 Deadly Sins (Demo) – Time For Heroes B-Side

21.  Up The Bracket – Live at The ICA – 3/6/02

22.  Mayday – Live at Nottingham Rock City – 30/10/02

23.  Begging – Live at Divan Du Monde, paris – 7/11/02

24.  The Boy Looked At Johnny – Live at Divan Du Monde, Paris – 7/11/02

25.  Death On The Stairs – Alt Guitar Version

  • DVD

HD Videos of Up The Bracket, Time For Heroes and I Get Along. Later with Jools Holland 2002 – Up The Bracket & Time For Heroes. Top Of The Pops 2003 – Time For Heroes and exclusive bonus footage.

Exclusive Extras. 

  • Cassette – Early Demos

1.   I Get Along – 12/01 – Nomis Demo

2.   Time For Heroes – 12/01 – Nomis Demo

3.   Never Never – 12/01 – Nomis Demo

4.   Horror Show – 12/01 – Nomis Demo

5.   Boys In The Band – 12/01 – Nomis Demo

6.   Up The Bracket – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

7.   Begging – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

8.   What A Waster – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

9.   Skint & minted – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

10.  General Smuts – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

11.  Bangkok – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

12.  Mayday – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

13.  Mr Finnegan – 01/02 – Nomis Demo

14.  Tell The King – 25/1/02 – Demo

15.  Death On The Stairs – 25/1/02 – Demo 

16.  Time For Heroes – 1/3/02 – Demo

17.  I Get Along – 1/3/02 – Demo

18.  Horror Show – 1/3/02 – Demo 

19.  Boys In The Band – 1/3/02 – Demo

20.  General Smuts – 1/3/02 – Demo

Up The Bracket arrived like a raging bull in a tired post-Britpop china shop and introduced the world to The Libertines, a new gang of London bohemians, whose ragged tunes, red military tunics, opiated poetry and ‘live now pay never’ lifestyle came to define the millennial angst of the early noughties. At the heart of the band is the blood bond bromance between the ramshackle Music Hall Jagger/Richards, Peter Doherty and Carl Barat, ably assisted by the rock solid rhythm twins John Hassall and Gary Powell. Any bookie worth his salt would have given you short odds on this quartet surviving more than a month or two, given the teetering on the brink lifestyle they chose to lead, but here we are two decades later and our Byronic heroes, though older and wiser, are still fighting the good fight and making music every bit as vital as their debut. The belief, talent and fervour that Doherty spoke of in their earliest manifesto has stood them in good stead.

Up The Bracket, justly considered one of the greatest albums of the noughties, was originally released on October 21st 2002 by Rough Trade Records. The album, a heady stew of indie rock, skiffle, blues, dub and English bucolic pop, was a huge shot in the arm to a largely redundant music scene and helped to inspire the rebirth of guitar music, going on to influence countless artists who followed in its wake. 

Up The Bracket, which was produced by Mick Jones of The Clash, takes you on a wondrously poetic journey into the band’s mythical world and their fevered dreams of Albion, a land of squalid glamour, liberty, equality, fraternity, gin palaces and chip shops. Quite simply Pete, Carl, Gary and John created a hugely compelling timeless British rock’n’roll classic debut as relevant now as it was upon its release.