EINAR SOLBERG – frontman of Norwegian rock mavericks Leprous – released his debut solo album ’16’ in June. Wildly diverse, but spiritually rooted in Einar’s well-established musical world, ’16’ is an album that brims with surprises and spinning curveballs and features a collection of intimate but extravagant collaborations. The album has been receiving some stunning reviews, with Prog Magazine calling it “an impressive and adventurous new chapter in his career”, while Metal Hammer UK praised it as “a thrilling work from one of progressive music’s most intriguing artists.”

Einar also recently launched his new YouTube channel, and you can watch a brand new sing-through video for the track ‘Over The Top’ here: https://youtu.be/ceisJ8O3F1w

He previously released a sing-through video of the album’s second single ‘A Beautiful Life’, which you can see here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFI867pg5J0

In April Einar performed his first ever live shows for this project at Prognosis in the Netherlands and UK, and has just been confirmed to play this years edition of Euroblast in Germany. His band for these shows is Hrafnkell Örn Guðjónsson (Agent Fresco), Ben Levin (ex-Bent Knee), Chris Baum (Bent Knee), Ari Karason (Mezzoforte) and Ruben Aksnes (Maraton).

Watch the previously released videos below:

‘Home’: https://youtu.be/VsnrzQlqlNo

‘Over The Top’: https://youtu.be/IsTf5iLiwyM

 ‘A Beautiful Life’: https://youtu.be/XAE2y2RfHtg

‘Grotto’ (feat. Magnus Børmark): https://youtu.be/r_Ol_LSma6k

’16’ is out on Ltd CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP + LP-booklet & Digitally. Order here: https://einarsolberg-artist.lnk.to/sixteen

Einar Solberg is as renowned for the tender honesty of his lyrics as he is for the eccentric majesty of Leprous’ music. But even by his usual standards, ’16’ is an extremely emotional and dynamic piece of work. Einar describes the record as “the closest I’ve ever come to writing a concept album” and explains that the new songs are about a very specific and transformational period in the musician’s life. This is the sound of a restless spirit in his absolute element. 

’16’ finds Einar collaborating with everyone from modern prog contemporaries like Bent Knee’s Ben Levin and Agent Fresco’s Toti Gudnason, to experimental cellist (and regular Leprous live musician) Raphael Weinroth-Browne and Magnus Børmark, best known as a member of Norwegian alt-folk troupe Gåte. He also once again collaborates with Ihsahn and Star Of Ash amongst many others. The record was mixed by mixed by Adam Noble (Placebo, Biffy Clyro, Nothing But Thieves) and mastered by Robin Schmidt (The 1975, Placebo, The Gaslight Anthem, etc.). The cover artwork was designed by Elena Sihida.






Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day