SQUID have announced FIELDWORKS, their alternative socially distanced UK tour which presents a unique opportunity for fans to witness the band’s creative process first-hand. SQUID have always flourished when fleshing out new material in front of fans, feeding on their energy to create something transcendental. It takes a fearlessly forward-looking band to take this unexpected turn and play exclusively new ideas.

Fans who pre-order the debut album, BRIGHT GREEN FIELD, before 26 April will get the opportunity to experience SQUID at their creative best as they test out new ideas and collaborate with special guests along the way.

The FIELDWORKS tour is an opportunity for fans to experience something different in a number of beautiful and unusual settings before the band head out on their headline UK tour when fans will be able to hear BRIGHT GREEN FIELD live for the first time.

SQUID on the FIELDWORKS tour: “With all this time rooted in one place, we’ve been hard at work writing new music together. We thought that this little tour of places off the beaten track would be a great opportunity to show you all some new tunes, and some REALLY new tunes We can’t wait to play some of these places that aren’t on the traditional touring circuit and to see all your faces.”

Pre-order BRIGHT GREEN FIELD here: https://squid.ffm.to/bright-green-field

Videos for the first two singles from the album are here:

NARRATOR: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__zmVSREvxY

PADDLING: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xvisyj5CJg4



MAY 2021


Wed       19           FALMOUTH                           Cornish Bank

Thu         20           TOTNES                                  St Mary’s

Sat          22           BRISTOL                                 Cube *

Wed       26           CHIPPENHAM                       Old Road Tavern *

Fri           28           HULL                                      Adelphi *


JUNE 2021


Tue         01           SHEFFIELD                             Leadmill

Thu         03           MANCHESTER                       Stoller Hall *

Sat          05           LONDON                               Silver Building *

Mon        07           NORWICH                             Halls

Wed       09           BEXHILL ON SEA                   De La Warr Pavilion

Sat          12           MARGATE                              Cliftonville Hall


* Two shows back to back







Tue         07           BRIGHTON                             Concorde 2

Thu         09           BRISTOL                                 Marble Factory

Fri           10           MANCHESTER                       Albert Hall

Thu         23           LONDON                               Printworks

Fri           24           BIRMINGHAM                      Crossing

Sat          25           NOTTINGHAM                      Rock City

Mon       27           NEWCASTLE                          NUSU

Tue         28           GLASGOW                             SWG3

Wed       29           BELFAST                                 Empire

Thu         30           DUBLIN                                  Button Factory




Sun         03           CARDIFF                                 Tramshed

Mon        04           SOUTHAMPTON                   The 1865

Tue         05           EXETER                                   Phoenix




BRIGHT GREEN FIELD features field recordings of ringing church bells, tooting bees, microphones swinging from the ceiling orbiting a room of guitar amps, a distorted choir of 30 voices, as well as a horn and string ensemble featuring the likes of Emma-Jean Thackray and Lewis Evans from Black Country, New Road. However, for all the innovative recording techniques, evolutionary leaps, lyrical themes, ideas and narratives that underpin the album, it’s also a joyous and emphatic record. One that marries the uncertainties of the world with a curious sense of exploration as it endlessly twists and turns down unpredictable avenues.


Formed in Brighton SQUID are:


  • LOUIS BORLASE (guitar and vocals)
  • OLLIE JUDGE (drums and lead vocals)
  • ARTHUR LEADBETTER (keyboards, strings and percussion)
  • LAURIE NANKIVELL (bass and brass)  
  • ANTON PEARSON (guitars and vocals)



BRIGHT GREEN FIELD track listing:


  • Resolution Square
  • G.S.K
  • Narrator feat. Martha Skye Murphy
  • Boy Racers
  • Paddling
  • Documentary Filmmaker
  • 2010
  • The Flyover
  • Peel St
  • Global Groove
  • Pamphlets



https://squidband.uk // Instagram // Facebook // Twitter // Bandcamp

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day