Legendary US progressive rockers Spock’s Beard recently announced the release of their 13th studio album ‘Noise Floor’ for 25th May 2018. As revealed previously, for this album Ted Leonard, Alan Morse, Dave Meros & Ryo Okumoto are joined in the studio once again by drummer & original member Nick D’Virgilio.

You can now watch keyboardist Ryo Okumoto, & long-time collaborators Rich Mouser & John Boegehold discuss the track ‘Beginnings’ in this brand new studio documentary here:

They recently launched the first single from the album, its storming opening track ‘To Breathe Another Day’, and you can watch the video here:

The band comments: “This is the most awesome video for the most awesome song “To Breathe Another Day”. I dare anyone to write a song more awesome than this, or be more awesome than Ted, Ryo, Al, Dave, or Nick. Plus, it is from the most awesome album ever recorded. Not just the most awesome prog rock album ever, but the most awesome album of any genre, ever. ‘Noise Floor’. Be a part of history, pre-order your copy today!”

The album was once again engineered by long-time collaborator Rich Mouser and will be released as a 2CD digipak (featuring an EP of material from the same sessions), gatefold 2LP + 2CD & as digital download. Pre-order now here, including limited colour versions from the InsideOut shop, here: https://spocksbeard.lnk.to/NoiseFloor

The track-listing is as follows:

Disc 1 – Noise Floor

1. To Breathe Another Day

2. What Becomes of Me

3. Somebody’s Home

4. Have We All Gone Crazy Yet

5. So This Is Life

6. One So Wise

7. Box of Spiders

8. Beginnings

Disc 2 – Cutting Room Floor

1. Days We’ll Remember

2. Bulletproof

3. Vault

4. Armageddon Nervous

pock’s Beard is a band that is in a continual state of evolution, as is always the case with genuinely creative musicians. And their new album, ‘Noise Floor’, fits perfectly into this process.

“We are always about evolution, not revolution. But what we have done this time is make the songs more melodic,” believes vocalist/guitarist Ted Leonard. “We still love our crazy prog, but now appreciate how important it is to grab people’s attention early on.”

As with all Spock’s Beard songs, most of the new album was written by the individual members, and then brought to the rest of the band as high quality demos. “We all do this type of thing in our home studios,” adds Leonard. “So, by the time they reach the stage where the entire band get to judge them, they are really developed, and therefore everyone can make a reasoned judgement.”

Much of what you will listen to here is very much the product of fresh inspiration from the Californian band.

One key change on this album sees the return of drummer Nick D’Virgilio, who originally left in 2011. There are also two violinists, a cello player, a viola player and an English horn featured on the album, thereby giving the sound a slightly more evocative and persuasive twist.

Look out for more information in the coming weeks!