Shot Through The Hearts


Katatonia reveal more details

Katatonia, the Swedish purveyors of dark progressive rock/metal, have released more details of their eagerly awaited 10th studio album – The Fall of Hearts which is set for release on the 20th May 2016 through Peaceville Records.

View trailer here:

 Katatonia - Fall Of Hearts - Medium Res Cover

The Fall Of Hearts tracklist:

Takeover [07:09]

Serein [04:46]

Old Heart Falls [04:22]

Decima [04:46]

Sanction [05:07]

Residual [06:54]

Serac [07:25]

Last Song Before The Fade [05:01]

Shifts [04:54]

The Night Subscriber [06:10]

Pale Flag [04:23]

Passer [06:25] 

Bonus Tracks:

Vakaren [04:54] (CD/DVD & Deluxe Edition)

Sistere [04:11] (LP & Deluxe Edition)

Wide Awake In Quietus [04:59] (Digital & Deluxe Edition)


The Fall Of Hearts will be released on the following formats : 

Deluxe 12” hardbook featuring:

  • 30+ page artwork book, with alternative album artwork from Travis Smith.
  • CD The Fall Of Hearts 12 original album tracks plus 2 bonus tracks ‘Sistere’ & ‘Vakaren’.
  • DVD-V The Fall Of Hearts 12 original tracks hi resolution stereo & 5.1 audio (DTS 96/24 5.1 & 96/24 Stereo LPCM) mixed by Bruce Soord.
  • Special Double 10″ vinyl edition of The Fall Of Hearts 12 original tracks plus bonus track ‘Wide Awake In Quietus’ (with MP3 download code) featuring guest guitarist Paradise Lost’s Gregor Mackintosh.

2 Disc CD & DVD Mediabook featuring:

  • CD The Fall Of Hearts 12 original album tracks plus bonus track ‘Vakaren’.
  • DVD-V The Fall Of Hearts 12 original tracks and includes hi resolution stereo & 5.1 audio (DTS 96/24 5.1 & 96/24 Stereo LPCM) mixed by The Pineapple Thief & Katatonia collaborator Bruce Soord offering audiophiles an outstanding listening experience. 

CD featuring:

  • The Fall Of Hearts 12 original album tracks with a total playing time of 67:32 minutes. 

Double gatefold 180g heavy weight LP featuring:

  • The Fall Of Hearts 12 original album tracks plus bonus track ‘Sistere’ (with MP3 download code).

Digital download featuring:

  • The Fall Of Hearts 12 original album tracks plus bonus track ‘Wide Awake In Quietus’ featuring guest guitarist Paradise Lost’s Gregor Mackintosh. 

Formats are now available to pre-order:

CD / LP / Deluxe Edition / exclusive bundles: AND

Digital pre-order link will follow

The official follow-up to 2012’s acclaimed Dead End Kings was recorded at Stockholm’s Studio Gröndahl & Tri-lamb Studio, and was self-produced by Anders Nyström & Jonas Renkse. Mixing and mastering duties were carried out by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Ihsahn, Devin Townsend) at Fascination Street Studios, with Karl Daniel Lidén (Switchblade, The Ocean, Greenleaf) brought in as engineer.

The dramatic yet desolate artwork was created by long time Katatonia designer and illustrator Travis Smith.

Katatonia have spent the past four years since the release of Dead End Kings touring the world, as well as expanding their fanbase through two special albums on Kscope, the sister label of Peaceville. 2013 saw the release of Dethroned & Uncrowned which exploded the core of the songs on Dead End Kings creating new moods and textures. In 2015, they released the live acoustic album and concert film, Sanctitude. Both releases illustrate the band’s journey toward this, their current more progressive sound.

The Fall of Hearts is the first record to feature new drummer Daniel ’Mojjo’ Moilanen and with the addition of their recently recruited guitarist Roger Öjersson (Tiamat), who came in just in time to sprinkle some blistering solos on the album, Katatonia will continue to push their musical boundaries beyond their roots in the metal scene while drawing in new fans from across the musical spectrum like peers such as Opeth and Anathema have also done, cementing Katatonia’s place as one of the most revered and cherished of all bands in the world of modern heavy music.

Katatonia have confirmed the following festival appearances for 2016:

29/04/16 – Norway, Kopervik – Karmoygeddon Festival

19/06/16 – France, Clisson – Hellfest

03/07/16 – Finland, Helsinki – Tuska Festival

9-10/07/16 – Belgium, Bouckenborgh – Anterwerp Metal Festival

29/07/16 – Romania, Sibiu, ARTmania Festival

05/08/16 – Portugal, Corroios – Vagos Open Air Festival

17-20/08/2016 – Germany, Dinkelsbühl – Summer Breeze Festival

4/09/16 – Brazil, São Paulo – Overload Music Fest **NEW ANNOUNCEMENT**

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day