Canadian rock writer Mitch Lafon, on his Twitter account, does a thing called “3 Truths” every day.

The other day he did one about Bon Jovi’s “These Days” album and argued that the bonus tracks were amongst the best things they did in the 90s (he’s right), but there’s a wider point.

Amongst the many things the Internet has ruined, it’s destroyed the CD single.
20 years ago, “That Was Then, This Is Now” would have been a CD single, “This Is Now,” would have been on the A-side, and the rest of the tracks would have been on the bonus cuts.

So, let’s start at the end, with the new track. The trippy “This Is Now” is what Envy of None does best. Maiah Wynne’s wonderful breathless vocals, the guitar lines, the harmonies – it’s understated, but it’s gorgeous.

The other four tracks on the EP have been around for a while. “Lethe River” and its expansive sounds, and “You’ll Be Sorry” and its industrial tones, both appeared on the expanded version of Envy of None’s debut album. Despite their familiarity, these songs still captivate with their boldness and ambition.

“Dog’s Life” and “Dumb” receive the remix treatment, resulting in tracks that are perfectly suited for the underground club scene at the 3am comedown. Alf Annibalini’s keyboards take center stage here, proving to be the MVP of these songs. The remixes offer a brave and expansive take on Envy of None’s sound, pushing boundaries and creating an immersive feel.

And I’ve got to say this, I suppose like I’m contractually obligated. Envy of None is what Alex Lifeson did after Rush. Whether that matters here or not, you decide. This is not the spirit of radio, this is the spirit of adventure.

Rush was then. Envy of None is now, and this is compelling and beautifully beguiling.

Rating: 8.5/10

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day