Chicago-based slide guitar virtuoso and singer-songwriter, Joanna Connor, best known as one of the reigning Queens of blue rock guitar, releases her latest single “Destination” on the same day she releases her 14th album 4801 South Indiana Avenue” on Joe Bonamassa’s new independent blues record label Keeping The Blues Alive on Friday 26th February 2021.

“Destination” is a raw and gritty blues rock cover of the Assassins classic. Stream the single and pre-order the album from

Watch the “Destination” video HERE and embed it on your website or share it on social media.
The new album, the follow up to her critically acclaimed studio album “Rise,” is produced by Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith at Ocean Way Studios, Nashville, Tennessee. Joanna and Joe and the rest of the musicians on the album dug deep, and in the process, conjured up an authentic, alive and kicking non-derivative set of Chicago Blues.

Says Joanna, “We chose the album title “4801 South Indiana Avenue” because it was the actual street address of the hallowed funky blues sanctuary “Theresa’s Lounge.” We want the listener to open that door, walk in and feel to their core some of the magic that a place like that brought night after night. It was an honour to bring this to you the listener.

Joanna has played guitar with the who’s who of blues including the likes of James CottonBuddy GuyLuther AllisonJimmy Page, and Junior Wells. Debuting at Chicago’s premiere blues club Kingston Mines in the 1980s, she played there three nights a week ever since, in between gigs at larger clubs and festivals, before the spread of the pandemic earlier this year.

An aggressively edgy and highly innovative blues rock guitarist with a tight groove that encompasses jazz and funk, Joanna’s hailed by many as one of the most powerful and influential female guitarists in the world.

The new album reflects an entirely new experience from the way Joanna has recorded music in the past. “This album is a homage to the blues school that I attended in Chicago,” says Joanna. “We attempted to capture the spirit of tradition and inject it with raw energy and passion.”

 Track Listing

1. Destination (3:31)

2. Come Back Home (4:19)

3. Bad News (6:26)

4. I Feel So Good (3:35)

5. For The Love Of A Man (4:20)

6. Trouble Trouble (3:40)

7. Please Help (4:14)

8. Cut You Loose (4:09)

9. Part Time Love (5:06)

10. It’s My Time (4:39)

Previous article
Next article

More From Author


Popular Posts

Latest Gig Reviews

Latest Music Reviews


Band Of The Day